WHY PRAYING FOR OTHERS SOMETIMES PRODUCES MORE RESULT THAN PRAYING FOR YOURSELF.

in #spirituality7 years ago (edited)

Hello steemians, there is a popular saying in my Country that when you're busy doing other people's work, God will be busy doing your own work. This is also applicable to praying. Those who pray for themselves more than others usually find solace in the verses of the book of psalms in the bible. The psalmsists is always keen in asking God to intervene in their personal circumstances. Book of psalms is filled with prayers like these:

Have mercy on me, O God, according to your unfailing love; according to your great compassion blot out my transgressions. Psalm 51:1

Lord, you are the God who saves me; day and night I cry out to you. May my prayer come before you; turn your ear to my cry. I am overwhelmed with troubles and my life draws near to death. Psalm 88:1-3
Hear my cry, O God; listen to my prayer. From the ends of the earth I call to you, I call as my heart grows faint; lead me to the rock that is higher than I. Psalm 61:1,2

There are other countless of scriptures that compels us to pray for ourselves. Jesus is a caring and loving father and is always receptive when we bare our afflictions to Him. It is good to take our needs to him, we need to do so, it is necessary. But those who only go to Him in prayer with only their own needs and never intercede for the needs of others usually miss out on all prayer is meant to be and what it is meant to offer.

These prayer for oneself alone can appear egocentric and those who pray for themselves alone can become apathetic and pay no attention to the needs of others. When we intercede for others in prayer, it connects us and other and the world around us. By doing so, we grow in our compassion for others and inculcate the spirit of helping others which is a God given quality.

monkimage.jpg
Image source:Coast vineyard

When we help others, we not only pray for them, we answer their prayers. Here in steemit, I have received some help that is like an answered prayer to me. I will always appreciate my guys @greenrun, @agbona, @ogochukwu and @theheralds. Even if tomorrow i see myself out of steemit(which is unlikely), i am convinced that there are still many good guys around. Driving my point home, when you look around you, you know those who are happy when you achieve a fit, they're not just happy for you but also for others. These people always find a way out of their trying times, when you hunger for people's progress, God answers your prayer as if He was waiting for you to pray. The reverse is the case for those that find it difficult to pray for others and worst for those unhappy for people's progress. You can easily find the last category in villages. They bring down stars that are already shinning. My people in Nigeria will understand better. But their death is always worst than their life.

Make out time to help and pray for others both those that helped you and those that did not. You're praying for yourself in disguise. Today I pray for my guys @theheralds, @greenrun, @ogochukwu, @agbona, @dante31, @akpolopez, @sparklez, @onequality, @steemnaira, @abmakko, @ejemai, @cqf, @chelaruc, @raphaelle, @jofomaja, @pangoli, @officialfuzzy, @michaelcj, @rickie, @samiwhyte, @ehiboss, @desmond41, @ausbitbank, @diluck, @arcange, @surpassinggoogle this year you guys will experience unparalleled success, achieve what seemed impossible in the years past and see yourselves maxing the rank of seventy(70) here on steemit.


Reference
Campus renewal
Sort:  

James 5:16King James Version (KJV)

The bible has this to say about the topic in James 5:16 (KJV)

Confess your faults one to another, and pray one for another, that ye may be healed. The effectual fervent prayer of a righteous man
availeth much.
Thank you for sharing and blessings
@praise-eu

thanks for your support and God's blessings

True, because no one enters GOD's presence and come out the same..keep it up...

I'll pray for you, too!

Thank you for this post, to pray for others is part of our ministry here on earth!

thanks, i appreciate the support

i pray for you too brother. Go and exceed your expectations for this year in God who strengthens you.

i appreciate the support. thanks

Praying for others or we call in "interceding" is very helpful to ones life. We may not know that we are only the one praying for him and so if we stop praying, then who will now pray for him. Let us help one another by prayers and intercessions indeed. Thanks for this @henrychidiebere!

Amen o
Thank you bro

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58566.25
ETH 2542.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48