[SPIRITUALITY] What is bad and good?

in #spirituality7 years ago

28945116_10155937674565781_1959129246_o.jpg

There’s always going to be bad things happening in life. There’s always going to be good things happening in life. At least what we perceive as bad and good. What if the things that’s happening to us actually are neutral? That bad and good things don’t exists. The most of the people are happy when good things happens to them and sad when bad things happens to them. It just goes on and on. What if we can transcend this rhythm of life and emotions? What if we can be happy no matter what happens in life, no matter of the circumstances? What if we can be happy even when we’re sad? That the happiness goes so deep down in our soul that nothing on the surface (what’s happening to us in our lives) can disturb that happiness and peace.

Can a poor and homeless man or woman be happy? Someone that has, what we perceive as, nothing. I think so, I’m not saying that it’s easy but I’m saying that it’s possible. Can a very rich and healthy man or woman be unhappy? For sure. Then maybe the opposite can be true also.

Let’s say I win a million dollars on a lottery today. That would probably make me happy for a while, right? I would maybe call my friends and family and tell them something good, even amazing, happened to me today. Let’s say that one of my friends is a really bad friend of mine but I’m unaware of it. When he hears my news he gets very jealous. He’s starting to make an evil plan to steal my money and murder me. He puts his plan into action and actually steals all my money and then murder me. That we would perceive as a bad thing that is happening to me, right? Now, was this million dollars a blessing or a curse? Was it a bad or good thing that was happening to me?

Somethings that looks good can actually lead to something bad and the opposite is also true of course. I believe that this is a truth that the enlightened knows. I think this is a big insight that you need to reach and fully understand if you’re aiming at becoming enlightened.

This does not mean that we should not try to avoid bad things and try to make good things happen in life. We can be happy when good things happens, and sad then bad things happens but we need to keep this truth in mind.

Somethings that are out of our control, for example that people that we know and love will die. How are we to react to this? How would an enlightened person react to that? Maybe he or she would be sad but not letting the feeling take over too much. The enlightened person would know that this is just a part of life and we came into this life with these rules. The enlightened person would probably not deny or supress his or her feeling, they would let it out but they would not be absorbed by these feelings. They would also know that the feelings will pass and that the feelings are not who we are. We’re much bigger than that. In this way they can still be happy and peaceful even when “bad” things happens. It only gives some waves to the surface of the ocean but deep down the ocean is still calm and peaceful.

It might seem like an enlightened person is numb, but I don’t think that’s the case, they are just so real, so pure. If someone dies and they do not get any natural feelings they will probably not force the feelings or pretend to have feelings.

What do you think about all this?

Blessings! <3

Sort:  

The soul becomes dyed with the colour of its thoughts.

Very poetic! :)

My view is focused on your lips a fascinating.

It's ok to feel sad, happy, angry, disappointed,etc. It's ok to feel. Feeling something doesn't mean it changes the overall state of being. It's a feeling/emotion that will pass. ex: you can be happy, overall in your life and still feel sad (like when you lose a loved one). I think it's a case of, a state of mind vs the emotion you're feeling in that present moment. And I don't even think we need to label it as "good or bad".

So, as long as your state of mind is happy, joyful, fulfilled. The roller coaster of emotions we will feel throughout lives are inevitable. I think a person that is "enlightened" is really just very aware of their real, true state of mind -peace and happiness, that no emotion/or expereince is going to take that away. (doesn't mean they avoid feeling it) They find their way back much sooner.

I think sometimes we can allow these feeling to take over and make them bigger than they need to be. We can sometimes feed it and give it more momentum to grow into something bigger. So it's important to know how you prefer to feel and what your core desired feelings are so you can find your way back to them sooner.

Great topic! ;)

Well spoken! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62311.78
ETH 2418.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67