You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: SPIRITUAL FOOD 4 THOUGHT - CHRIST IS DEAD!

in #spirituality6 years ago (edited)

Well. I watched your video @papa-pepper and as they say in silicon valley, "there's a lot to unpack here," but I'll just write a little.

I grew up in a "church family" with a number of leaders related to me. So, I kinda got to peek behind the curtain" and see the side of them that the public never did. You know, like in The Wizard of Oz. I saw him with his makeup off.

My Grandfather led two churches, ran several companies, and despite being wealthy, never did anything for the poor.

We had a huge empty basement in his small town and a handful of homeless people. As a teen, I asked if we could use five army cots to let these folks sleep in over the Winter since there was no shelter. There were bathrooms/showers down there, and it was unused most of the year.

His response? "I'm not gonna let those filthy people into the house of God." Yet, it was perfectly fine to hold bake sales, raffles, and profitable games of chance during the Summer. I had to listen to my Grandparents brag about all the money they had while they made fun of the poor at the dinner table.

I remembered reading about Jesus chasing the money-changers out of the Temple... The greed of these people was astounding.

Like you, I felt powerless as no one dared to question the leader. When you see the rot from the inside, and cannot change anything, it may be time to leave. It was for me. You may need to do what has to be done on your own. Find like-minded people and maybe have services in homes like they did long ago.

Sorry for the long post, the title did it's work. I wouldn't say God is dead, I'd say the church is...

Sort:  

Ouch! That is a painful "faith" to be exposed to!

With a provocative title like that, I thought you wanted to spark a discussion, that's why I wrote as much as I did. Well, you have a wonderful weekend @papa-pepper

Oh yeah, I don't mind interaction, I was just short on time when I replied and then took a day off.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63914.94
ETH 3312.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.92