Blog #5: Fear not! You never know when the lightning strikes.steemCreated with Sketch.

in #spirituality6 years ago (edited)

Part 2

Oblivion.

It was summer of 1998. Me and my 4 year old baby sister were playing upstairs when my mom called me on a high pitched voice. She sounded so excited, which made me wonder why?

" Anak (Daughter), come here. I have something to show you!", she said. I tucked my sister into my arms and carefully went downstairs to check what was going on. As soon as I saw my mother, she welcomed me wearing her widest smile. She was with a door to door sales lady. I see a lot of cute stuff that were neatly organized on a portable closet. Mom grabbed one from them and showed me a yellow dress with the prettiest flower prints I thought I've ever seen.

"Mama, it's very pretty!", I uttered in awe. My doe eyes went bigger as I held the prettiest thing on earth. I whispered, " Ma, will you buy this for me?"

*My mom, nodded with faint smile. *

Suddenly, a cloud of thick black smoke appeared from nowhere. It's choking me, my mom slowly disappeared through it. I tried to run to her but I couldn't move my feet. I shouted on top of my lungs calling her name. "Ma!!!!!!! Mama, where are you?", I cried. Hardly breathing but I tried and tried and tried and tried.

"Mama, don't leave! Mama!!!!! Mama!!!!, but she's gone. I was left in the oblivion.



Image Source

Soaking with tears and sweat, I woke up panting. It's almost 3AM, 25th of February 2011. My alarm clock is beeping non-stop. I got up and went for a gulp of cold water. I'm still palpitating, and tried to calm myself.

The stupid nightmare came again.

It's been more than 10 years, since my mom left us to go abroad. A decade now when she promised me to buy me that dress and never called. She never came back, she may never come back. My nightmares have been hunting me as often as it wants. It's never getting any better.

I was on that deep thought when my ring tone came in. I got a message from, Berna the nice young lady from locale of EDSA-Cubao. Yeah! Today is the day.

Introduction

Hello guys, it's C'est La G once more and today I am giving you the second part of my installment blog posted 5 days ago. I hope you enjoyed Part 1 and in a way inspired you! Because that's my goal why I am making this kind of content.

But just in case you are a newbie or it's your first time to read me here on Steemit, I recommend that you check it out first. I could use your upvotes and comments to keep creating this kind of stuff. And If it won't bother you that much, a resteem of this baby blog would be very appreciated.

Now, enough of this intro and let's get back to the story.

P.S. It could go a bit emotional. I was listening to Kylian Rebour's "Field" and Max Richter's " The End Of All Our Exploring" as I went on writing and editing this, you can't blame me. (chuckles)

Brand new day.

Vast darkness tried to fight the seeping light that slowly breaks at the horizon. It's a picturesque of wonders that I saw for the very first time in the city. It didn't fail to tear a smile on my face, this brand new day welcomed me with hope.


Image Source

I walked pass the streets of Guadalupe. As soon as I reached EDSA, I took a bus going north. The ride was so fast and smooth, a typical experience that city life offers when the government declares a national holiday. I couldn't be any luckier than having an early trip with no stressful traffic, it's the 25th Anniversary of EDSA Revolution after all.

In less than 20 minutes, I arrived at EDSA-Cubao safe and sound. I would no longer need to walk since the bus stopped right in front of the Ang Dating Daan (The Old Path) Coordinating Center beside the infamous SM Hypermarket.


Stay open. You never know when the lightning strikes.

-Bill Parrish, Meet Joe Black

A familiar cheerful face approached me, it's Berna.

" Hello, Ma'am Geri! Wow you are an early bird.", she said. I smiled back at her and told her how the road went, while we are entering the locale. When we reached the main hall no other visitors arrived yet, which means I came in first.

Few minutes later, the other visitors arrived. There was me, Ate Marlyn, Sean, and Mang Ramon who made it. We were the ones who raised our hands when Bro. Alfie Panganiban, a regular worker, asked if who among us is willing to proceed with the baptism after the 2 week indoctrination sessions.


(Photo credits to MCGI Offical FB Page)

That night I felt nervous, but it ain't enough to stop me. I just can't ignore the truth that was unfold before me through Bro. Eli Soriano's preaching.

I can't get enough, I wanted to hear more about the truth in the Bible. I want to be part of that truth. I want to live the way Our Lord Jesus Christ and the Almighty Fathers' will.

I never had that kind of realization with the Roman Catholics. Yes! I was born, baptized and raised in a very conservative Catholic family for 24 years. I never thought that what they taught me and to many million Catholic members, was the exact opposite of what the Lord Jesus Christ's teachings.

That is something that a thinking mind could not ignore. I admit that at first, I tried to reason and defend my Catholic belief. I'm hurting inside and thought that they were just fooling me. But every time I do feel that way, the Bible has its way of shaking me up. It is there, I had the answer and reality in front of me. The spitting truth that strikes like a thunder bolt of lightning.

Painful, the truth is excruciatingly painful! I was raised with the kind of faith brought from lies.

My heart wept with rage as soon as the reality came rushing through me.

That night, I didn't hesitate! I chose to raise my hand.

I remembered my favorites speaker once said;

"Feeling nervous is normal, letting it stop you is a choice!"

"You have to learn how to let the feelings of doubt rise up, but take action anyway. You've got to learn to embrace the fact that you're gonna feel like an impostor but you my friend are the kind of person that moves forward anyway."

Mel Robbins


The defining moment.

A group of elderly, the locale choir members, sang few Hymns to us while we are getting ready for our trip to Apalit, Pampanga. They were not as good as the "Philippine Madrigals" vocally, but at that time they were harmonizing with unexplainable chills. I felt like my heart is being touched by an ice cold hand. I silently burst in tears, trying to control my emotions.

I noticed that no one was talking, except Ate Marlyn. Berna, Bro. Alfie as well as Mang Rey, the driver, avoided to engage on a loud conversation when we went to the van. I yawned during our silent travel. My eyes went heavy. Berna tapped my shoulders. She kept me to stay awake, telling me that it's very important not to sleep at this very hour. She also told me that, what we were about to have is very sensitive. I didn’t understand it fully, but I complied.

After an hour and 45 minutes, we finally arrived at the ADD Convention Center in Apalit, Pampanga. We were welcomed by the clear skies above it.


Photo credits to MCGI.org

A sea of meticulously arranged seats were seen on the main covered court. Candidates for baptism like us were now busy on the registration area. A very accommodating young girl approached us and led the way to our assigned area. As soon as we finished filling up the forms, we were brought to the chapel. I was so surprised with the number of candidates that I saw. They came from different cities and provinces of Luzon area. I intently observed what will happen next, and then another group of choir sang few opening songs.

A man came in and introduced himself to us. His name was Bro. Gerry Cabañero. He welcomes us and led the opening prayer. After a few moments, the final indoctrination session began. Bro. Eli Soriano discussed why we are all there. He delicately taught us the importance of this day, now it made sense to me what Berna told me earlier. He gave us warnings and most especially asked us our final decision.

"Will you go or will you not, it's all up to you.", he said with the sincerest eyes I've ever seen in my life.

Renewed.

It's my turn. I am dressed in white with my hair pulled in a ponytail. I slowly stepped my right foot into the water. A soft spoken lady called my name and held my shaking hands. She supported me so I won't fall. The next thing, I'm already standing in front of her and we were half submerged in the pool. Her voice is very soothing and she is now asking me questions to validate my vow of obedience to God's doctrines.

Yes, yes, yes! My eyes were closed as I make my vow. Tears came out of joy and overwhelming happiness.

Relief! Relief! Relief!", said the voice at the back of my mind. I signed deep, feeling that unfathomable relief.

The cold water touched my skin, every part of my being. It's as if it washes the inner part of me, my heart, my mind and my whole body. Memories rushed through me, my mother's last smile, my father's wrinkled fore head, my brothers and sisters, my Lola, my Nanay and my friends and relatives. I no longer feel pain in my heart, all I feel now is relief. As I came out of the water, I felt so light.

2:15PM I am finally baptized. I tried to find the old feeling of anger, fear, vengeance and self-pity. Yet it's no longer there. I held my chest, and smiled like my heart was smiling too. Another lady gave me a small white piece of paper. It reads the time and the name of my baptizer, Sis.Sylvia Gaddi. Then the lady called me, Sis. Geraldine. It was music into my ears, and found myself crying in tears again. I hugged her out of my happiness. I am indeed filled with gladness!

"Another chapter has started for me.
A life story with You in me;
My Lord, my God I asked Thee,
Write my story in this new journey".

Ces't La G <3

02.25.2011


I am so happy that I finally finished and was able to post this for you guys! It's a story that I have been wanting to tell for years and now that I made it, I just can’t help but thank God and our Lord Jesus for this opportunity.

Perhaps you are wondering which affiliation I now belong with, I am a proud MCGI. It's Members Church of God International and tomorrow, February 25, 2018, I will be celebrating the 7th year of my Sabbath Day inside the true church written in the Bible. Happy Sabbath Day to me!

If you are curious and want to know more of our congregation you may visit our official website.

I recommend this to all my beloved co-Steemians, who are on their quest in searching for truth. Have you got questions in faith that seems to have no answer? I would love to introduce you to Bro. Eli Soriano and Bro. Daniel Razon, our overall servants, and watch the program Ang Dating Daan (The Old Path) they hosts.

Before I end this blog, I would love to leave you with this verse:

And let the peace of God rule in your hearts, to the which also ye are called in one body; and be ye thankful.
(Colossians 3:15, KJV)

I hope my blog gave you some inspiration to continue living and search what's missing: FAITH, LOVE and HAPPINESS.

Watch out for my next blog as I will show you my journey after finding and accepting the truth. Until next time, loves!

To God be the Glory.

signaturesteemit.gif

Sort:  

It felt like i was with you while reading your story. Happy 7th year of Sabbath Day po. :)

I'm so touched po. Thanks be to God and for the upvote. ❤️❤️❤️

Salamat po sa Dios Bro Gil. Thanks din po for always leaving me your comments. I enjoy reading them😍❤️😊

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64733.60
ETH 3170.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.16