You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Why Meditating Is (Slowly but Surely) Changing My Life for the Better

in #spirituality6 years ago

What kind of meditation technique do you use? You mention:

"Change Your Mind - A Practical Guide to Buddhist Meditation" by Paramananda.

showed you the power of meditation but I don't think you discussed what kind of methods you use. Did you learn it from the book? YouTube videos? Other meditators taught you? You took lessons to learn it from a teacher? Do you have your own ways? Do you mix multiple ones to make one that fits you the best?

I ask because I know there's SO many different techniques and each has its own process; the initial learning phase, the mantra you get in some, what you focus on, etc. I practice Transcendental Meditation (TM) myself and for this type, you learn it from a licensed TM teacher.

Reading the impact meditation has had in your life, I'm quite intrigued because I've never heard from anyone about such immediate results from meditation. I would love to hear more!

Sort:  

Oh that's new. I think i should research on this one.

Hello @cabernet! Most of the time I meditate and focus on my breath, but I am not (yet) super strict with myself on this, as I feel sometimes my meditation turns into a prayer and I enter in communion with God, ie. I feel an opening, as if light from the skies is washing through me and I feel recharged, activated, nourished and inspired. That's where my inspiration is coming from, I think.

I was using both the apps I mentioned in this article, Headspace and Insight timer with their guided meditations to get me started. An ex of mine was also guiding us through a meditation session, which was nice and I learnt how to drop in even deeper.

But because I feel I'm only just scratching the surface now, I'm going to this meditation retreat in a couple of weeks where I intend to learn new techniques and deepen into the practice.

With or without technique, I think it's your state of consciousness and your intention that matters. You are surprised that I've had such immediate results.. well I don't think they are solely based on my meditation practice, I am trying to make my whole life a meditation, ie to adopt a mindful and conscious perspective in everything I do and experience.

I hope this makes more sense to you.. if not, I'm happy to share more :)

I see. That's amazing that you've had such a powerful experience through meditation and yoga. I am very much interested in learning how you turned your life around to become so at peace. Gonna have to follow you to learn more :)

Well, it's an ongoing journey... Peace is a big word, I don't consider myself at total peace, but surely more at peace than how I was before :) Yay, I'm glad you're interested to find out more about me! Hope you will enjoy my upcoming posts. I am going to post pages from what I call #DiaryOfAFreeSpirit, an account of my transformational journey so far.. stay tuned!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57614.45
ETH 3097.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57