The secret teaching

in #spirituality6 years ago

shivashakti.png

Once a seeker went to a great master. Bowing reverentially in the traditional manner he said: “O master, I seek enlightenment, please initiate and teach me so that I may attain That!”
The master replied in a kindly manner: “Certainly my son, tat tvam asi, you are That, the divine Self lives within you. Meditate on that Self, know that Self, merge in that Self, realise that Self!”
The seeker was disappointed. “O master, I know all that already. Why, that very teaching was featured in this month’s Yoga Journal. Please give me the secret teachings, I want the real stuff!”
The master said: That is all I know. That is my entire teaching I have no secrets. There is nothing that I have not given you. However, if you are not satisfied, you can go down the road to the next swami’s ashram and see if he has something more suitable for you.”

The seeker approached the other guru and said: “O master, I seek enlightenment, please give me the initiation and your most secret teaching so that I may attain That!”
The guru said: “I do not give my teachings so easily. You must earn them. You must do sadhana, spiritual practice. If you are sincere then you can stay here and work for 12 years. Only in this way will you earn my initiation.” The seeker was delighted: “That’s just what I wanted. That is real spiritual life, real sadhana. I’ll begin at once.”
The guru assigned him the job of shovelling buffalo dung in the back paddock. The years went by. Each day as he shovelled the dung the seeker dreamt of his future enlightenment. He ticked the passing days and months off his calendar.

Finally 12 years were up; the great day arrived. He approached the guru with hands folded palm to palm.
“O my guru, I have served you faithfully for 12 years. I request your teachings and initiation as you have promised. Please bestow your grace upon me.”
The guru said: “My son, you have served me well. You truly deserve my teaching. Here it is: “Tat tvam asi. You are That, the divine Self lives within you. Meditate on that Self, know that Self, merge in that Self, realise that Self!”
The seeker became enraged. “What! Is that all? The guru up the road gave me that the first time I met him and I didn’t have to shovel buffalo dung for him for 12 years!”
“Well,” said the guru. “The truth hasn’t changed in 12 years.”

Sort:  

Ha, that was a good one. Very true. I think a big problem with some students attitudes is that they think they can be told something magical and it will result in their realization, like they can think their way into it. Maybe it's possible but generally isn't the case.

True, this is a western phenomenon, that people try to think their way into enlightenment. Even the most beautiful heart centered paths get corrupted in a way, because we think we "have to get it" through our effort and intellect. So good to see. Thank you for your comment! <3

Absolutely love how true this article is.

So often people misunderstand that enlightenment and knowledge start from within.

Lovely Story, the seeking machine seems never to be satisfied. Puts me in mind of the teaching of A Course In Miracles which is very Christian in its language, though very similar to Advaita Vedanta, in it, it talks of the mantra of the ego-mind (for want of a better term) - that mnatra being 'seek but do not find.'
As long as there is a search going on, then the mind is happy :)

Right, that´s why Papaji always said "Call off the search. Don´t move. Don´t make any effort. Keep quite." <3 He was my first spiritual teacher.
ACIM was never my thing as it felt always way too mental in its approach - I couldn´t sense the Love in it or in the people teaching it - much more like a philosophy class, where you try to "understand" through distancing yourself from the experience with mental concepts. I guess in the end, I don´t believe it to be possible to end one concept (ego) with another concept (ACIM). Thanks for getting in touch! I love to follow you! <3

Sneaky Ninja Attack! You have been defended with a 3.59% vote... I was summoned by @atmosblack! I have done their bidding and now I will vanish...Whoosh

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly – Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here

Haha nice, but very true :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64320.07
ETH 3154.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.34