Some thoughts to meditate on part 2

in #spirituality7 years ago

Hello Steemians, today I attended Raj Yoga Meditation class again. Today’s lesson was a recap on some of they key points. Here is my understanding of some of the terms.

Peace-quietness and stillness

Love-comes from within, does not mean spoiling another person as this can make a person dependent.

Happiness-also comes from within. Going to the movies and catching up with friends are external, they are not considered as happiness in the context of meditation.

Negative and positive thoughts-a key point in Raj Yoga Meditation is to change one’s thoughts. One should try to raise their awareness and remove negative thoughts.

Stability-this will occur through raising one’s awareness by practicing meditation, removing negative thoughts and trying to remain peaceful. This is one of the benefits of meditation

God/supreme soul- the source one connects to when recharging/meditation. I think of it as the spiritual realm

Recharging- a short and beneficial meditation session

One of the techniques taught by my meditation teacher is to meditate before bed and first thing in the morning for a few minutes. Saying positive affirmations can assist this. These include positive sayings such as I am peaceful, I am happy, I am a loving soul.

In addition here are some great quotes from an email sent by my meditation teacher:

"To watch with detachment is to give the best performance."

"To water seeds of positive thoughts is to bring it to fruition."

Finally, here are some peaceful pictures I took while walking my dog today.

This is an Australian bird, the Ibis. Although the picture is attractive, the Ibis is considered a pest by many Australians

I like the reflection in the water in this photo

Sort:  

muy cool

ill try next time I meditate. following for more posts like this. great job

Nice pictures, I'm following you now.

thanks for those tips

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64182.15
ETH 3505.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53