The now........

in #spiritual7 years ago

Is it possible to be in the now? I surely want to try to be and I do practice the idea of it frequently. I listen to all sorts of people saying things such as "being in the now is how to calm the essence of one's being." "Just clear the mind, think of nothing and most importantly be aware." No matter how you look at such an activity, whether an art form, form of meditation, therapy or just a way to be, it's simply not so simple to do. Some have practiced techniques involving this their whole lives. I've tried and although I can say there is a certain sense of satisfaction to actually devoting a bit of time to just sitting, being, and awareness there's always a distraction whether internal or the outside world that breaks the moment. Is this the actual fight or is it growth? I for one find it rather difficult to stay in this state for any real length of time due to my mind wandering here or there. Whether it's what needs to be done on the old to do list or what I feel I could have done better or even events in my past, present and future. My mind always seems to wander. No matter how I try to clear it and just be in that moment of trying it never fails. So is this part of the learning curve within this realm or state and can it be achieved? I often ponder over this afterwards when in my mind I've exercised the activity but yet again failed or did I? I suppose if someone doesn't actually experience and explore all the corners in a room, they'll really never know exactly what's in the room so to speak. I also suppose that everyone's experience is different as is everyone. I can tell you that I know this frame of mind or being does exist from experience but not through the state of actually trying to practice it as I've read but rather through music. For me, sitting down turning on my amp and picking up my guitar is the beginning of a state of what many define as bliss. Five or so minutes into a noodling session, not a lesson mind you, and my mind is clear, I'm at peace, no thoughts of anything what so ever, and I'm lost in the moment yet aware. Is this the state so many who practice this art speak of. It's the only relatable time and time again experience I have to compare with. I'm not quite sure where I'm going with all of this other than is there something I'm missing in practice? Do you practice something similar and if so are you a master, beginner or somewhere in between? Would you have suggestions for others such as myself? I'm always curious to learn from others who have succeeded. Sorry for the rant and seemingly somewhat strange post? Just something that was on my mind today as I had the house to myself and my mind wandered to and fro.................... Thanks, stillwater.

Sort:  

Nice friend follow you new on steemit

Congratulations @stillwater! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

East bound and down

Great post @stillwater.

I have been on a similar journey and come to the conclusion that launuage and our concept of time cause the anxiety.

What is time? And how much is a long time and how much is a short time?

It's all relative to your point of view!

We could go through the same issue yet my time to get over it might be longer than yours or vice versa!

I always thought complete meditation was being able to see there for ours with no thought or an empty mind until I went to some sessions and noticed I'd zone out and the moment I noticed I'd start to think how did I do that and how can I get back, then was that my stomach or some one else's, how strong are ants... through out the day a few months later I started to realize that it's all relative!

The I believe once you start to get to know your self truely you will take as much time as it takes to find your answer! Some answers come "quick" and some come "slow" but no answer comes before it's time!

I'm still working on this myself as just like in meditation I loose focus and have to get myself back on track!

I have a mantra to relax my shoulders to remind focus (without focusing) I think you touch on that when you play your guitar. (At least that's what I felt when I read that.

This is a subject I love so will be looking out for more of your post man!!! ;)

Thank you for this @stillwater I too do find it difficult to centre myself in today's frenetic environment. Many years ago when I was studying violin at university my mentor was very spiritual person brought a lot of the ideas on mediation and enlightenment into my lessons. He tried to show me that when I am doing something (practicing the violin) my mind needs to be on only that task. I have never been able to master that approach, but I have made progress. Violin is nice for this because it is so complex that one cannot let the mind wander while doing it.

Anyway, just a couple of thoughts.
Thank you for sharing.
Following
Cheers,
Buckydurddle

You are welcome. I'd love to sit and chat with someone like your mentor. I'm sure I could learn a thing or two. Yes, it seems that focusing the mind on one task I really enjoy, like guitar, centers me instead of my mind running amuck! The added benefit of hearing the music and feeling the vibration of the instrument adds to the whole experience. I can be having the worst day and just a few minutes with my guitar erases it but it seems to all come back when I stop. I need to learn more about meditation I suppose and then practice it. Glad to meet you by the way. I'll see you around here in the community!

Agreed stillwater. My experience with African drumming is the most impressive example of this for me. The vibrations and rhythms can entrance. Life altering for sure.

I am VERY new to Steemit and still learning the ropes. I have not been posting deep thoughts, but my feet are hardly wet yet :)
Keep in touch.

I will and look forward to more from you my friend. Welcome!

Congratulations @stillwater! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62934.09
ETH 3118.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85