What is Fasting? Is there any effects or not? Is it a good thing or a bad thing?steemCreated with Sketch.

FASTING from the beginning hasn't changed it's course and meaning. Nesteou in Greek and Tsumm in Hebrew languages. In our language, fasting means self denying from food or abstaining from anything we eat or drink. In hebrew, "it is to cover your mouth". To eat very little or go through the day with an empty tummy. It's also submitting yourself fully to God and surrendering your whole body unto Him. That means, you willingly deny yourself from food as well as drinks --- we did it for spiritual purposes. In so many reasons, we still need fasting now a days.

There are 3 Kinds of Fasting:

  1. Normal Fast - it is a kind of fasting that includes water --- this without solid food.
  2. Total Fast - this means restraining from food & water but it only takes 3 days when doing this.
  3. Partial Fast - food and drinks are not prohibited but only you choose what meal in a day you desired to eat, or like the catholics, they give up meat on Lenten Friday and Muslims only eat once in day fro about a month when they have a Rhamadan.

Prayer is a powerful thing, it is so effective. But many times, prayer and fasting is more powerful than just prayer alone. It is our greatest spiritual weapon against the enemy who wants to attacks us. There are actually a lot of people ever recorded in the Bible who fasted for guidance, healing, wisdom, protection, restoration, repentance, a fast that glorifies God, fasting for your family, for your future spouse, your career, and even for your entire life. To seek God's will is one of the biggest fulfillment you ever dreamed of. I know that mostly, yes, in general, have heard about Moses, the one who wrote the 10 Commandments. He fasted for 40 days and 40 nights without food and water. Queen Esther fasted for 3 days when she appeared to King to plead for her people (The jews). Hanna fasted as she ask a son and named her Samuel and a lot more. God hears those people long before and still he hears us today because He's none other than the One True God that we know Yesterday, Today and Forever. He's still that same God from the beginning and until today.

Fasting bring complete healing. I have known a woman who experienced cancer and the only way she be healed is through fasting. Yes, you read it right! She fasted for 40 days and 40 nights only with water. And when the time of fast, she hears the Holy Spirit spoken unto her that she's totally in no pain. She's healed. Fasting is not just in physical form, spiritual form but it also help us recover from past relationships. Aw, I have experienced that. The time when my boyfriend broke up with me, I thought I didn't get through it. I thought I was in total mess but when I decided to fast for 7 days, the Lord has healed my heart. I was able to let go of that person and I was able to forgive him for causing me so much pain, for breaking my heart, for leaving me behind without any explanations. The Lord has changed my heart and those broken pieces He mended, and I was whole again. Yes, I am so blessed to know the power of fasting.

Literally, as I wrote this today, I am already on my 1st day of fasting and I'm so excited to see the things God prepared for me. Asking God to give me song (original composition) to be sung worldwide. And even favor as we sing our original composition this 10th day of December at Limketkai Atrium, Cagayan De Oro City, a competition of Christian Artists all throughout Mindanao organized by Dayeg. And of course, I fasted for my future mate (spouse/husband).

How about you, if you were to be ask, what are the reasons if you fast?

https://www.facebook.com/dayegmovement/?fref=ts

Sort:  

I heard a lot about fasting. If I had any reasons, well, I actually don't know as of yet. It's always good to hear when people have something that keeps them going!

Hi @marceive, thank you. I hope this inspires you. If that time comes when you already know the reasons, just go ahead and do it. ;)

Very interesting take on it upvoted.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 59541.64
ETH 2637.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45