You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: NOMADIC WANDERINGS AND TENTED HOMES

in #spiritual6 years ago

Beautiful post, Tracey. I can see why you would go back to this year when Sukkot was hard in the present.

You've been doing the feast days a long time compared to most of us newbies!

It looks like a wonderful year. Maybe next year again. Maybe together this time.

We can always hope...

Sort:  

We say "next year in Jerusalem"....

You've got me thinking Lauren. It'll be 11 years this Pesach. When did you come to the understanding?

Well, that depends. My family has been keeping Sabbath for 30 years because we felt God had commanded it of us too. Eating clean for 28 or 29. But we didn't keep the feast days because we were addressing commandments one at a time and trying to figure out if we should be keeping them.

When I married Ben, his point of view was just slightly different: that instead of looking at each command, we needed to know who we were. If we are part of God's family...well then. Everything he said to his family applies to us to the best of our capability.

It wasn't a big leap for me at all.

We've been married 7 years in November. We marked the first Sukkot we were together, but we were only engaged so attending a Sukkot gathering and camping for the week seemed like not such a good idea at the time. So this is our 6th Sukkot actually being in a temporary dwelling.

Which means you have a few years on us!

Lauren I LOVE your story! My husband's parents were Sabbath keepers (and kosher) for very long but he fought it. Good charismatic Christian ;) But when he saw Shabbat then he understood everything as well. The Names. Israel. Feasts etc. Although I grew up knowing that Israel are the chosen people and that easter and christmas are rooted in paganism I didn't question further. Until I started questioning the unScriptural teachings and traditions the church (and leadership that I was a part of) practiced. I was asked to leave and really dug into Scripture, specifically the first 5 books for months. I came to the understanding the week before Pesach 2007 so every Passover is a special one for me. And how blessed are we to raise children in Torah!?

I'm sorry it's taken me so long to get back to this comment, but I'm pretty sure you'll see it!

You have such a similar story with the roles reversed! You're more like Ben and your husband is more like me.

My family had to leave a couple of churches. That is no fun at all.

But what a good anniversary! I remember we came to the hard and fast conclusion to keep the feasts right before Passover as well...and then we had no clue at all how to keep it. We're still figuring it out, but boy were we lost that first year...

Got it!! We're all on a journey Lauren. And I love hearing about each one's adventure

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64058.80
ETH 3150.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99