Spinning yarn, part 1.

in #spinning6 years ago

I made a promise to make a post about spinning yarn and it has been on my mind ever since. Now I'm spinning again so I thought I would make that post, but it won't be just one post. There's to much to tell to put it in one post. I had my daughter to help me make a few short videos and I tried to find a way to upload them here on steemit. I couldn't find any so I just turned into a youtuber as well, but I'll probably never do any videos besides the one I'll need to make for this series. I thought it would be nice to go through the whole process starting with washing and carding the wool. I can at least give you a short explanation how I do it.

d8be017eac40a16914e9343d9c18e5ca.jpg
(picture from pinterest)

Wool is a nice material that can be used to do a lot of different things with. I use a variety of technics, depending on what type of wool I have. Wool with shorter fibers are better to felt with than wool with really long fibers. With the exception of merino wool. It's soft and dense enough to do both with. I buy merino for the variety of colors and use it whenever I want to add some color. I haven't used a lot of different types of wool, but enough to know what I'm looking for. Long fibers that are soft I spin yarn from and wool that are shorter, softer and more dense I save for felting. There's only one kind I don't use to anything but beard or hair for my santas, that's locks that reminds me of very thick hair. I did try to card them, they only ended up feeling like a wig or a very wild looking toupee.

I wash raw wool by hand, using dish soap. Be careful not to agitate the wool while washing it. I only push it down to soak and then I just push it very lightly around a couple of times so that it moves around just a bit. I use a couple of big wash tubs, first I soak the wool in really hot water and let it sit for at least ten minutes. I drain some of the dirty water out of it and soak it in hot water with a very small amount of soap, I only use a few drops. I try not to wash out all of the lanolin. Then I soak it in clean water at least two sometimes three times. Always fill the water in your tub or whatever you use before you put in the wool. One thing to remember is to try and keep the water about the same temperatures through all of the washing. I lay it out to dry using (don't laugh, low budget) old curtains. Lace curtains.

14708148_1800118436892240_7408261463637497088_n.jpg

I have a couple of drying racks and with a curtain on it works as a screen. I let it drain in a plastic bin that have holes in it, I put a curtain over it to keep the wool from passing through any of the holes. I move the wool from the tub by carefully picking it up with my hands and into a bucket, if I don't have it in a washing bag that I made. It's easier to move the wet wool to the drying rack if it's already in a curtain. Sometimes I just use what is around, on the picture I used an old enamel sink.
I don't do anything to get rid of small debris or felted locks before washing. I usually get it all out when I start carding it.

17361931_1869724806598269_6735694518579151191_n.jpg

When the wool has dried it's time to do some carding. I love my hand carders, I use them a lot. Carding with hand carders isn't all that easy just to begin with, it takes a certain technic to do it and I watched a really great video when I started to learn. I won't make a video to try and explain, I'll just put the video I watched at the end of this post instead.

20171020_142839.jpg

This is the wool I'm spinning from right now. It's a lambs wool and I haven't washed it. You can see the darker tips on the wool, all the lambs wool I got has a tip in a different color. It's a really nice wool to spin.

20171020_143153.jpg

This is how it looks when carded. I wanted to show that it looks a bit different and you can see how it's kind of fluffy. My plan is to show you how to spin and then how to ply the two singles into a yarn using the yarn I'm already spinning.

Here comes the video on how to use hand carders. I also use a drum carder, but I still do the hand carding before using the drum carder to get a better result.

I hope you enjoyed watching this and that you will stay tuned for the next part!

Until next time, be well.
//S

Sort:  

Interesting process. I love learning how this is done from the beginning to the end. Carding made a big difference in the fluffiness of the wool. 🐓🐓

That's nice to hear :-) I've read and watched a lot since I started, so it's kind of fun to do something like this!

Very interesting post. The video whows all. We love spinning or rather watching how it's done so this is a really nice way of doing that. Thank you Will follow. Joke: What do you get if you cross a Kangaroo with a sheep? - A Wooly jumper! Happy Steeming!

Hahhaha! That's a good one :-)
Thank you! I hope that I'll be able to show the rest of the process in a manageable way, it's good to hear that you found it interesting. Do you spin or do you want to give it a try?

Glad you got a laugh. I would love to spin but haven't the time or space, I'll stick to making my scarves (not wool) and will tell all sometime next year! I just love the process you have of making something manageable to create something else. I'll just keep looking at yours!

I look forward to see your scarves! It's always the best feeling when you do something on your own!

My daughter was gifted a spinning wheel and we've been trying to find someone local-ish to teach her how to use it. Do you know anyone in Central Kentucky who knows how to spin and would be willing to teach?

I'm sorry to say that I don't know anyone there. Can you show me what kind of wheel she's got?

The one she was given was a homemade one made with PVC pipes. The woman it belonged to had to go to a long term care facility and could no longer use it. I'm not sure how to load a picture into the comments on here (I'm new).

If you find out what kind of flyer she got, if it's scotch or irish tension and if it's one pedal or two on it I would say it's possible to find out what you got. I'll search for some pictures and see if I can find any links so that you can look and compare. I've seen wheels made with pvc on pinterest and I can at least try and help you so she might be able to use it 😊

Try this link to see if you have anything that looks similar.
http://knitty.com/ISSUEss11/KSFEATs11glossary.php

Hers is similar to this one. Maybe I'll make a post about it and post a picture. I'll tag you. :)

There is Dtube you can use - but I have had a hard time with it. i will keep trying though. You just use your steemit name and your posting key to start an account.

That's good to know! Thank you 😊

That is so incredibly sweet of you to share your knowledge like you are. I've wanted to learn from someone for years. It's definitely a unique skill and worth passing on so it's not a 'lost' skill.

Thank you! I'm hoping that I can encourage someone to give it a try. I find it very rewarding even if it takes some time, I can still see progress in every step leading to that finished yarn. That makes it all worth it.

oh, you are so renewing my desire to learn BIG TIME! There is a fiber guild near me, where they teach it but it's on Saturdays (our shabbat) so I haven't been able to learn from them. That pic @themyrrhmaid put up there makes me want to build a spinning wheel too, just for the creativity of it all. ha ha! I have a young one that would try to destroy it in a heartbeat though, so I may have to wait a year or two before it's 'safe' to have one in the house. ha ha. I'll be following you and watching/learning in the meantime for sure.

This is awesome very inniative works..thanks for sharing this article @articgarden

Thank you so much!

Your welcome my friend,looking forward to your next post!

👍 Very interesting. Next you'll be raising your own sheep! :)

I'd be considering getting a few sheep it if I was living in a more rural area 😊

Haha...somehow I just knew that! I would like to add another animal to our homestead. So far all we have are hens. But I don't think I need any more work!

That's also something to consider, but when I met the sheep I got wool from I was sold. They were really friendly, I've met dogs less friendly.

Lovely, I'm very interested in all of these craft posts, I'm gonna be checking the next on this series

Thank you! I can relate to that interest, I find a lot of inspiration reading and watching what others do.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64266.94
ETH 3077.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87