Help! Spiders!

in #spiders6 years ago

So I have been noticing more and more a particular species of spider around my property and house. I am not scared of spiders and I do not really put them in the “pest” category where you would need to get an exterminator involved, but this particular spider is making me nervous… it has a red-ish/orange-ish hourglass on it, similar to a Black Widow! My spider is brown though and only comes out at night, so it is hard to take pictures of. Here are a few pictures I was able to capture of a few of these brown spiders:

A1564BC3-3D58-4113-BB6E-98091E64A082.jpeg

926B9DEE-1870-4083-BB73-9FF085B18189.jpeg

BFDE584E-3921-47CC-ACF8-FC3B7C2E57F4.jpeg

I know the Black Widow spider is poisonous, so I wanted to make sure this particular spider was not dangerous to my young kids. In researching, I have identified it as the Brown Widow spider, but I would like to see if my friend @sultan-aceh can weigh in to confirm (he appears to be an expert in spiders!).

If it is indeed the Brown Widow, Wikipedia does say it is venomous, but with not nearly as potent a venom as the Black Widow. It also says it originates in South Africa, but is newly established in Southern California, which is where I reside! Here is the Wiki page: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Latrodectus_geometricus

It appears that the venom and toxins from a Brown Widow bite is confined to the bite area and is minor compared to a Black Widow bite, as it cannot deliver the same amount of venom.

OK, now what do I do? Do I go through and kill them all to make sure my kids do not get bit or do I let them be if they are not bothering anybody? Any advice?

It looks like a local University was doing some extensive research on this particular spider, so maybe I will call them up to see if they want to turn my house into a research project as I seem to have quite a few of these spiders hanging around!

Take care,

Brian

Sort:  

I've been killing a bunch of nasty spiders at my house this past month. Two confirmed black widows, two that look just like this spider you posted and a handful of other creepy dudes. UGH. I dislike spiders, and especially when they are in or around the outside of my house!

Haha, I thought posting a close up picture might make a few people squirm! 😇 sorry to hear you are having issues too! Not cool! Appreciate you stopping by!

really very brilliant shots capturing on your hands by own camera.its just excellent shots photography.i am knowing something about spider.its poisonous but sometimes. any times not harmful.every children should be keep very carefull this spider.because sometimes its very harm doing everyone.i am seeing spider my house window corner and my small garden..but when i am not killing it.just clean it.really you sharing very good tropic post in your blog.thanks for your awesome creativity..my dear friend.. @brian.rrr very well done..best of luck of your great work and take care yourself..

They have always called my attention but I do not like them hahaha, very good your friend publication.
@calitoo

Friend you must be very careful with your children maybe it is not very poisonous but it is important to stay away from it we do not know how they can react to a bite of this spider

I think you should get rid of her. Do you have many of these spiders at home? if it's only 1 you can do it

Well, as a precaution, I know that your children are the first, in my particular case I do not like spiders. I do not do them badly but I respect them if you clean the area where they weave their spider web. and you will be quiet for the peace of the family a greeting and I hope you share the decision we made. a family greeting @ brian.rrr

Calling @papa-pepper to solve this!
I hate spiders, I can't help! lol
But, california is know for his black widows.

I'm not an expert on identifying spider species. I just squish them when I'm instructed to do so. I think you can have exterminators put a ring of stuff around your house that is supposed to keep the spiders out, but I'm not sure of the efficacy.

In Florida we check our shoes before we put or feet in them. But my mom was actually bit by a brown recluse and they had to cut her arm open and get the poison and puss out.

Ouch and gross! Glad they got it fixed up tho! Thankfully these spiders stay outdoors as we have never seen one in the house!

Spiders are some of the most interesting creatures on the planet and one of my favorite animals. However, if it comes down to the well-being of your kids, then I'd say kill 'em!

These spiders are poisonous. Many insects are poisonous but we can't kill them all. Some of them also useful for us like spiders also useful. But if you think that there is a possibility to harm your kids then you should take some steps to stop these poisonous spiders.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63510.75
ETH 3065.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82