How my financial future became secure once I decided to HODL everything!

in #spiderblogger7 years ago (edited)

doors-1767563_640.jpg

Blood baths are way more exciting sitting on the sidelines!


I'll never forget the first day I learned about the intangible commodity that would change my world as I knew it. The year was 2013 around the month of October when one of my friends came to me with this crazy idea to invest in a super computer to mine crypto.

After about a week of failed explanations and about 10 or 20 articles read, I discovered the crypto he was talking about was Bitcoin and the super computer we would be building was called a rig. We never ended up mining Bitcoin, but rather started an adventure through the crypto space that would change the trajectory of our lives forever.

About a month after discovering Bitcoin, the crazy run-up in price sending the digital commodity above $1000 occurred and I experienced my first real trip to the moon, which would soon send me crashing back down through the stratosphere into a state of FUD and irrational trades.

Many more run ups and crashes would soon follow throughout the years, where I was either caught with the bag and had to wait weeks to months to break even, or sold low just to have to price spike up soon after.

The crypto world has brought me more pain than anything over the years, which was until I discovered Steemit and the power that comes with HODL.

Steemit provided me with direction, motivation, and most importantly a community to invest my time and money into learning and investing in projects that I knew will bring me to financial freedom sooner than later!

Seeing my SP grow over the last 9 months has been unbelievable and I owe it all to the fact that powering down is really annoying haha. If we could cash out faster than 3 months, then I think I would have sold my Steem at $1 just to try and flip it! To me, I was forced to HODL, but because I never took it out, I learned the power that came with being indifferent to the status of the market.

e-commerce-2897798_640.png

Not a financial expert, but keeping your SP safe and powered up may attract a great fortune later on........Or it may go to zero, the choice is yours ;)


Now a days when the market is green, I'm super happy because the value of my upvote shoots up, which means I can better influence the lives of my friends and favorite authors.

When we have red days like today, I feel sort of numb because I've experienced more red days that I can count, and every time the market always finds a way to recover.

Once I made the decision to HODL everything for dear life, I took away the power the greedy whales and market manipulators had over my emotions and more importantly my portfolio. I even kept a little something on the side to buy some of my favorite coins on discount, so I catch myself rooting for the bears to win out at times haha.

woman-2435605_640.jpg

The power of HODL is any predator's kryptonite!


The life of a HODL is scary only if you don't believe in the projects you are invested in. There is no such thing as a guarantee in the crypto world, so my biggest tip is to only invest what you're willing to lose! If you do it right, this space becomes less of a blood bath and more of a utopia filled with upvotes and lightning networks, which is way better than blood baths every other week!

Hope you all had a great day and thanks as always for the support. Until next time, this has been a message form your friendly neighborhood #spiderblogger!

Source: 1, 2, 3



Sort:  

Yepp, as you touch upon, the more knowledge you accumulate the easier it is to HODL, I barely flicker an eye-lid when I see the market swings, because I'm so convinced in the technology. Of course, nothing is for sure, but yeah, we'll see 😉

Facts!

It's literally the only mindset to have to survive in this space lol

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60249.86
ETH 2347.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52