The reason I am powering down to daytrade, not "Sell" and why you should love day traders.

in #speculation8 years ago (edited)

Every Steem converted to Bitcoin then spent on real world items has a net cost to the network. I believe every sell for the purpose of trading,(hoping to buy back in lower, sometimes buying back in higher or neutral) has a net positive effect on the network. "But aren't you taking noobs coins?" I prefer to think of it as providing liquidity. Somebody always wants to buy. Whether that buy is a financially advisable move is of no concern. The market simply needs a seller to fill the order. Likewise with sells. I risk missing out on a Steem "moonshot" every time I sell at a psychological or chart top with the hope of buying back in.

No matter if that buy is successful or not I am still holding 100% of that value right here on the Steem blockchain. I am trading for SBD currently, If I was trading out to Bitcoin the value would disappear from the network and then reappear when I sent BTC back. If I am successful and I profit, taking coin from weak hands and noobs. More Steem gets concentrated in an account planning to hold most or all of it long term. That is good for the network.

If my trade fails and I buy back in at a loss, It benefits the network in other ways. Improving investor confidence, discouraging people from shorting can have a huge effect on the price by allowing rises to go longer and higher. Any trading is better than no volume. We briefly had paid market makers here but they were removed when kinks were found. I do not know if they will be back but. I know we can be the liquidity in the market we seek. If you came here and made free Steem blogging I encourage you to try daytrading with it in the internal market here. It is a great way to learn Bitcoin and alt-coin trading without risking "real money".

Sort:  

I agree. I started doing the same about a week ago. Providing liquidity on the INTERNAL market is very beneficial no matter if you're selling or buying. Also, being a liquidity provider is one of the ways listed in the Steem whitepaper for making money on Steemit.

  • Liquidity rewards: 1 STEEM per block (awarded as 1200 STEEM per hour) or 0.750% per year, whichever is greater

pg.35 of the Steem White Paper

I thought they removed all liquidity rewards for the time being?

Source? It's possible that is so. We did hard fork about 2 weeks ago ...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 53929.89
ETH 2263.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35