You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Specialization and Generalization - Know a Lot About a Little, or Know a Little About a Lot?

in #specialization7 years ago

Good thoughts on this topic.

Specialization allows faster progression as a species/culture and saves us time in our daily lives, in general.

You really think so? I often wonder if it's the opposite. So many today don't even have basic knowledge of how an engine works, construction, changing a light switch, splitting wood, etc. Some have the funds to just hire folks for virtually everything. But most either have to put it off or need to be willing to tackle it themselves. They're ripe for being ripped off because of a lack of basic understanding.
I'm on the same page as @areynolds (he has me by two years ;) ). My curiosity and desire to learn has me changing all the time. I do what I have to in order to put food on the table, but avoid punching a clock so I can keep pursuing freedom and learning new things.

Sort:  

That's why there's two sides to the issue, on both ends positive and negatives.

Try to do everything yourself. Get your own water, food, make your own clothes, do it all yourself, no one is allowed to help you. Build your own road. Make your own car. That's the extreme of a world without specialization. You are taking it to another extreme to make a point, which I get. That's when people specialize too much, and that's the point of the post, for why generalization is needed. We outsource a lot, we do something in exchange others do others things. That's the basics of specialization.

I think basic skills in a wide array of areas is helpful. But I think basic knowledge in a wide array of areas is very important. So, kinda yea and kinda no. :)
Your statement that I quoted struck me though. Perhaps I applied it too narrowly?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63314.98
ETH 3233.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88