Can i turn steemit into a full time job?

in #speakyourmind7 years ago

I wrote a post some weeks ago about Crono, my American staffordshire dog telling you how hard it is to raise a dog, and the situations we've been involved since we decided to keep him.Changed allot of places because the apartment owners didn't like pets, it was hard.

4 weeks ago my girlfriend decided to go and work in England because the minimum pay in Romania is about 300$ for 8h of work per day, 5-6 days a week and she wanted something better than that.300$ is low considering we're paying 200 euro for our 2 room apartment+ another 100$ in utilities every month.

While she was here, she worked in the day time for a paper printing company and i worked in the night time as a barista/barman in a local club. We had about the same pay, about 400$ per month.It wasn't allot, but we managed to get by, day by day, and most important, there was someone at home to babysit Crono at any time.

But things changed when she left to work in England.She got a bit tricked as she left with a local work recruitment company, and they said the pay was above 1,200GPB per month, with included rent and food,8 hours per day,5 days per week.When she arrived things changed.The actual pay was only 800GBP per month with 10 hours of work per day,6 days per week.That's more like slavery, but she said she can take it for a few months until she gets back on her feet.

So i ended up alone,taking care of Crono, balancing work and university, with the thoughts that i will follow her as soon as she finds something acceptable and secure.I imagined it can't be that hard, i can do it.My work program was 20:00-04:00 in the night time, i thought if i can manage to walk crono for a few hours before i go to work things will be ok(ish), and he won't be a pain in the but.In live in a block where almost all the people who live here are above age 60, so pretty grumpy, and some of my neighbors hate me for no reason at all.

It didn't go as i planned.The first weeks were ok, no complains from anybody, i imagined crono grew up, and he's beeing a good dog. One week ago, day started as usual, wake up at 12:00, did some cleaning, made some food, checked up steemit for a few min, and started to walk crono before i went to work.

Went to work, and after midnight i received a text from a friend who lives in the same building, saying that my dog is barking and making some weird noises, sounded like chewing some wood.I belived i can't be that bad, so i went ahead with my work.Some minutes after, i started receiving some calls from other people in the building.Couldn't answer as i was working, and begun to wonder what in the hell can this dog be doing and chewing.

Arrived home at 04:00, took a taxi.Police at my door. Neighbors in the front of the building,yelling at me.Five missed calls from my landlord.SHIT !

Took me half an hour to calm down my noisy neighbors,and to assure them this won't happen again.Called back my landlord, he was so mad, he told me if it happens again, i'm out!

Went inside, place was a mess.Trash on the floor, fridge door scratched, keyboard chewed, big hole in the bedroom door, front door chewed and scratched, internet cable ripped apart, and he was siting in the bathroom, looking innocent.Like he didn't do anything, wiggling his tail.

This is what it looks like to own a dog full with energy :
IMG-20171213-WA0001.jpg
bedroom door with a big hole

IMG-20171213-WA0002.jpg
Entry wood door chewed

I sat down for some minutes to chill down.Full of frustration, i wanted to punish the dog, but i knew he was just felling alone.Wasn't his fault, but wasn't mine also..

I knew i culdn't keep my job as a night time barman/barista so the next morning i quit.I didn't want this to happen again, so i had no choice. So until i can find a new job, in the day time, my only means of revenues will be Steemit.

Can i turn steemit into a full time job?

Sort:  

Wow. What story.
Turning steemit into a job is a nice ideea.It's been a thought of mine as well. But with just a few cents per post it's not enough for me right now.
You need time, which seems that you have now. Good luck man.

Considering the recent rise of SBD, maybe i can do it.Time is one thing i have right now

Dicey question... But frankly if push comes to shove, and you have no other means of livelihood, steemit is the best online business you can focus on, its educative and highly rewarding... The potentials to build wealth with steemit are limitless


Your post has been resteemed to my 3000 followers

Resteem a post for free here

Power Resteem Service - The powerhouse for free resteems, paid resteems, random resteems

Upvote this comment if you like this service

Well , i'm searching for a new job.In the meantime, Steemit sound good enough.

I'm beginning to think it's possible, because of your help too!
It will be a mountain to scale but stranger things have happened.
Full Steem ahead!

I will sure try .I see you're doing quite good here, hope it pays for you , as well.

I hope so! Gotta remain disciplined and it will at least help to make things easier offline.

The hole in the door looks like a heart... 💚

I'll continue following... I'm thinking about that exact same thing..

Maybe he wanted to show his appreciation for me by chewing a heart shaped hole in the door.

That's true love right there..

You can turn steemit into a full time job but you must be popular and have many connections. For the moment I bet you know it is not a good idea. Maybe the future will be bright for you :)

How knows, i will sure try.I will only cost me some time, and time is what i have.

Poate ne arati si o poza cu faptasul
Mult succes @fishmon!

cuuute

Your story is so sad from every point of view.

There are some that are doing it full time. I think the risk is high due to the market fluctuation. Now SBDs are high but if it hits a low like in March 2017 that would be harsh. I think you have the potential to do it. You have the steemit cards project, maybe you can turn it into a real game. There are some designers sought for utopian projects, there you can try also. This would be my view on this.

Your girlfriend shall try to change the job. If she signed a contract for 1200 a week, than they can't offer her less. By the way working times in the EU(UK is still EU) are limited to 48h max. You both shall investigate this.

She actually signed a contract for part-time when she arrived.She left with a Romanian work recruitment company, promised her a decent workplace, and found a job as a waiter at a Chinese restaurant in Windsor.We both know it is illegal what they are doing, but for the moment she decided to play along.It's hard being alone in a foreign country, with no friends and connections.

If the SBD price will stay stable for a few months, i believe i can work something out.

The fact that i have a university diploma in Mechanics, and currently doing a master degree in mecatronics, and i need to have 2 years experience to get a decent job seems out of this world.

Eh, life happens.Or in other words, Romania !

You should finish first your master. You can get at the current market situation a job everywhere in the EU. Uk also needs engineers with European passport and heritage. First job for 2 years will be not so good paid, but after that it shall be good. You can try an engineering lease firm and work on projects, usually like 6-12 months. You get a lot of experience by that. Don't stick to a place. Your girl needs to follow you when you get a job.

Let me put it straight. It will not work out. They will drain her to the maximum as she does not fight back. It is very hard, I know that.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58734.46
ETH 2636.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43