Speakyourmind -Fuck Rewards

in #speakyourmind6 years ago (edited)

One of the biggest problems on Steem today in my eyes is that people are fighting too hard for rewards

There is spam, circle-jerks, and completely trash posts with horrible topics everywhere on this platform. The hope of rewards drew these people here like flies to honey and now we seem stuck with them. They are not here to contribute, and the majority of people that try only do so to increase the value of their stake. All users, myself included, get attached to the potential payout of the post before it is even in my account. This combined with bots gives the idea that quality does not matter, that we deserve this money regardless of the quality.

In my experience, the best writers write not for profit, but for the joy of writing. The best communities form because people want to be together for a purpose, not because they want a quick profit. Forcing these people to go after rewards will just ruin them and their goals. Authors will spam mediocre posts, as the bot and circle-jerk filled payouts are what determine their quality, not their ability. Groups will be forced to go after profit to stay afloat, and then with that their true meaning is either lost or at the very least part of their effectiveness.

If we want to flourish as a community we need to focus on the community, not on the rewards. In fact, take rewards away from the GUI. I don't want to see how much my posts are going to payout. All I want to see are how many views I can get, and how many comments. I want to make an impact, not a profit. Let the rewards be a pleasant surprise, not the main course.

He's your arbitrary picture so it looks like I put effort into the post.

source

Sort:  

What do you expect, when this is your homepage:

Just get a piece of the pie. Or else the baddies will leave none for the goodies. #speakyourmind

Yeah that's my current mindset unfourtunatley (I only post content I'm proud of and will stand behind but abuse the shit out of bots)

Also I tried posting this on chainbb but there was a blockchain error or something, that common?

There's a few situations where errors popup (like if you use a duplicate title, one you've already used in a previous post). I'd be interested to know the exact error (open devtools in your browser to see it) you're running into.

the baddies will always get the most, meaning you must become a baddie to get a piece of the capitalist pie. There is no winning.

What is your alternative vision for the blockchain? I do not mean prescribing the attitude of users, as you did in your post, but from an organizational point of view.

I agree with a lot of what you said - and that's partially the reason I built chainBB and didn't focus on the reward aspects of Steem at all. It's all about discussion and community building, and allowing us (the users) to build the community of people we want to see.

It's damn near impossible to do on Steemit just due to the fact that a ton of users are purely in it for the money, buying votes, self voting, and trying to blog about what they think will earn the most.

Oh and also - when you write a post on chainBB, no one cares if you have an image in your post or not :D

yeah I saw that afterwards lol

Congratulations @anarchyhasnogods! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Yes, the balance between posting for fun or for votes has some instability in Steem comunity and sometimes in individuals. The dollar sign next to vote/like number is what this platform is known about. Hiding $ it could be a good thing, but I don't think it will happen in Steemit.com Maybe in eSteem or Busy.org.

Hung on every single word. Agree so completely. If this freedom to speak is not the most highly valued aspect of Steemit, it will cease to exist. I don't think that is going to happen, because of people like you. Who relish speaking their mind. Everyone benefits. Thank you.

It won't let me vote on your post. I swear the system is sentient and is offended by your "fuck the rewards" gesture! ;)

its probably because I declined payout, if you really want it to get more viewership I guess you will have to go to steemit

Oh, that's interesting. The vote 'loader' just keeps spinning. @jesta might have to fix that one.

Nice post, I'm pretty new on here and I can see what you are talking about, but with any free platform there will always be people in it for the wrong reasons. I see steemit as the having the ability to reach out and share, educate and inform people about the world we live in. I choose to write about more serious things for that reason and in doing so hope to try and empower others . I've seen a good community of like minded people on here also. So for me I try and support them.

Writers who survived steemit are just here for the love of writing and this community. We stopped caring about the people up there.

"Let the rewards be a pleasant surprise, not the main course."

💯

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63691.77
ETH 3157.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84