Sorry, I can't hear you....

in #speakers6 years ago

20181213_211431.jpg

Music. Movies. Games. All of these things make sound. All of this sound plays a vital role in me ingesting powerful images, stories, and embedding myself in escapism. The boxes above represent the first upgrade I've had to my speakers system in over a decade. It has been an extraordinarily long time between drinks. How big of an upgrade was this move? Well, I'll demonstrate.

20181123_200629.jpg
You vs the guy she tells you not to worry about

The bookshelf speakers I've chosen for my wall mounted front and rear speakers (in a 5.1 configuration) are about four times larger by volume (and weight) than my old, weary Yamaha satellites that have lived in many different postcodes. I have a proper, grown up home theatre system now - and one that I likely won't need to replace for another twenty or so years.

These speakers are driven by a Yamaha HTR 5067, which, while getting a bit long in the tooth as far as new audio standards go, is more than capable of driving these speakers effortlessly, and with no discernible distortion at uncomfortable listening volumes. The amp has 4K pass through, and ARC (Audio Return Channel), which allows the native 4K devices plugged into my TV (PS4 Pro, and Xbox One S) to send the correct digital audio signal to the amp for crisp surround sound.

Disappointingly, I have a backlog of movies, TV shows, and console games almost as long as my PC gaming backlog is - and that's very, very long.

20181213_211605.jpg

@ursa has been playing Dragon Age Inquisition on the big screen, from her laptop, and these speakers make the game audio sound... excellent. I can't wait to watch a movie on these things with properly mastered audio. I can't even begin to contemplate lying down in the dark with one of my favorite albums on and literally getting lost in the sounds. I had a quick listen to a few songs - and these speakers have so much nuance in them that I even picked up on instruments I hadn't heard through headphones!

It's going to be an excellent period of rediscovery.

Then, it's going to be even better, playing through a console backlog of games knowing that I've got excellent sound quality, and I didn't break the bank to do so.

I got the bookshelf speakers for $75 per set, and the matching centre channel was about $180. My old subwoofer pairs with these nicely, as it outdid my existing speaker set. I already had all the speaker wire routed through the ceiling and walls, so wall mounting the bookshelf speakers only involved removing a screw, and re-terminating the wiring. Piece of cake.

If you see me disappear and not make a post for a while... look for me, ruining my ears with these speakers.

Sort:  

Ooh nice! 😃 don’t ruin your ears too much or you won’t pick up those lovely nuances the new speakers reveal 😆

Posted using Partiko iOS

It might sound strange, but I once heard a Madonna album through a set of $4000 speaker towers and layers behind the music were incredible. Those 'instruments I didn't hear in headphones' are most definitely there.

Posted using Partiko Android

Fantastic. I was just marvelling that my Logitech surround sound speakers are about 15 years old and still going strong.

Hi @holoz0r!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 5.072 which ranks you at #1002 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 2 places in the last three days (old rank 1000).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 211 contributions, your post is ranked at #80.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You've built up a nice network.
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • You have already shown user engagement, try to improve it further.

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63178.17
ETH 2581.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71