Learning a foreign language: Spanish

in #spanish7 years ago (edited)

It is a popular saying that, we are not limited except in our own mind or thought. I have been living in a place made up of different languages as early as I was 15 years of age. I have been exposed to some other languages aside from my dialect: "Yoruba" like Nupe, Hausa. Sadly, I have only picked up few words from those languages. I tried as many strategies to learn them as possible. But I could only know basic words.



Right now, I have an obligation to speak Spanish and I can say I am doing well. I started to study and listen to spanish language podcast before I moved to a LATAM country. I had also enjoyed a lot of love in getting better.


Source

A Colombian friend was instrumental to exposing me to the right way to learn the language. He took the pain to make me write and pronounce the words. He was a great person. I have progressed in the language and even I had written some posts in spanish. Although, I had it vetted before I could have the confidence to publish it.



Also, I get better everyday, as I see and interact with natives both on social media and as neighbors. Also, everywhere I go, I am exposed to the language. Although, sometimes It can be difficult!!!



I am introducing any steemian that may want to learn spanish to have a look at some channels on Youtube. I subscribed to these peoples' channel and I try as much as possible to watch their videos .



They do excellently well in passing across their message to people. I am sure you will find them great.



Apps like duolingo, Tandem and Babbel are good to use. I have used the three and I still have duolingo on my phone.



These are the people I watch their Youtube channel.

If you have zeal at improving your spanish language, kindly do well to visit their channel.



  1. Channel url: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UC9yudInUYzMh9H4gJs4DrHg
    One of the videos



I hope you find them impactful

Sort:  

Learning a new language I believe starts first with the interest. After which you need to make effort (continuous effort). Having just the interest of learning a new language is not enough you need to continually make effort at it.

It can't be disputed that we have got ears for different languages way better than one another. Though, that only explains why it takes one person two months to understand a new language and another person 1 year to understand the same language under the same condition. At the end of the day, they both will understand it. Some people are bless, they understand new language so quick and you have them speaking as much as five to six different languages.( It doesn't mean we aren't bless too if we can't speak as many as 6 languages but as a consolation, we are also good at other things that they aren't good at).

As you make progress in learning your new language, you need to continue to practice it since it's not your native language, you are bound to forget it with time. I had three years of french class in high school; then I stopped to practice. All I have left now as regards my french is just about making baby talks.

As @turpsy said, to improve your spanish or new language....watch videos on youtube, chat on fb or whatsapp and you can also watch different programs in your interested new language. Make friends with native speakers who speaks the language you are interested in, exchange mails and correspondence and if you are financially buoyant, you can take a vacation to one of the countries that speaks the language that you are interested in.

I could invite you to visit me in Colombia or Mexico to practice your spanish with native spanish speakers if you are interested.

Y despues vale la pena (And after it would be worth it).
Gracias y buena suerte para apprender su idioma nueva.

Haa @aprecious. This is a well written comment. I obviously appreciate it. I have been doing many of what you wrote, and its paying off. I hope to visit someday.

Visit where again @turpsy? Maybe visit France to improve your french or China to improve your Mandarin...Lol

I only know a few words in Spanish and I can't spell them correctly.

  • hola, senior, senioritta, manos arriba, se siente, no se mueva, espera a qui.
    A few other words and sentences.

Well, I am happy you made an effort to know some and even attempt to write them. It is good to know some other languages. You have alot of spanish speakers in your city, it will be easier for you to learn faster, also, youtube helps alot. Thank you for your comment.

I use those phrases at work. My job is very diverse so it's easy to learn Spanish from employees.

Have been learning Spanish for a while now but it's a bit difficult for me to understand.. I will not stop learning it until I know it because I will soon meet Messi, Iniesta and other Barcelona players and is only Spanish most of them understand...

Here is my comment in Spanish-
se han aprender español por un tiempo ahora, pero es un poco difícil para mí para entender .. no voy a dejar de aprendizaje que hasta que sé porque yo pronto satisfacer Messi, Iniesta y otros Barcelona jugadores y está a sólo españoles la mayoría de ellos entienden ...

Muy bien amigo. Eso es maravilloso. Es una buen idea. Es poco a poco. Primero es que tenga la interesa y la otra es para intentar a practicarlo como siempre y asi mejorara muy pronto. Buena suerte

gracias por las palabras de aliento .. cuidar

Hahahah, this is good @harbecity

Wow great post my friend @turpsy kubelaji

HAhah, that is nupe. I forgot it since 2009 when I finish service there. Thanks for reminding me that.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63747.71
ETH 2543.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66