Best country in South America to learn Spanish???

in #spanish6 years ago (edited)

Hi Steemians!

I have been wanting to travel, live and to simply emerge myself somewhere in Latin America - especially, South America and learn Spanish for a while now. Keep in mind, ss of now my Spanish is somewhat… well… bad. Yeah, its pretty bad.

So since I have changed my lifestyle a little bit of late, I do now have about 2 months off, which I am hoping is a decent enough time to explore somewhere in South America - join a Spanish school and become more efficient in this beautiful language. This came very apparent to me whilst being in Ushuaia and Buenos Aires and attempting to get around, which is quite easy but it would be awesome to be able to talk to the locals more adequately.


892431_10151169400676364_1209712601_o.jpg
A photo from my last travels to Central America in Panama.


Currently, I am leaning towards Columbia in Medellin or Cartagena, which I am told are beautiful areas with some great language schools.


BUT this is why I need your help!!

What country would you recommend a beginner to go to in order to learn Spanish?

I honestly, do not know South America that well at all and I have had lots of friends suggest places - but a lot of them have barely explored & traveled that area also… Help me!

PLEASE LEAVE SOME ADVICE IN THE COMMENTS BELOW ~ MUCH APPRECIATED STEEMTIANS!


I am grateful in advance for any and all advice to assist me in this next small adventure I am about to undertake!


Thanks for reading and all the support, Steemit!!

Dont forget to Upvote & Resteem!!!

All stories & photographs are of my own work unless noted under the picture in question.

For more stories and photos check out my Instagram feed

Sort:  

Colombia! Medellin is small, cozy and is said to have the most beautiful women in colombia. Cartagena is beautiful but more turistic. I personally would go to medellin, I'm not that into very turistic places, I like to go to where the essence is, but that is personal. I lived in colombia for 3 years. I fell inlove with the country and the people. Let me know what you decide.

thanks for the advice. I was highly considering Medellin for similar reasons.

Hi Thomas! Well I would recommend to you to go Venezuela, because if you have dollars it’s going to be very very cheap join in to a Spanish school and the life is going to be very cheap too. Also I think that Venezuela has a very neutral spanish, and well Venezuela has beautiful cities to visit and practice your Spanish. I’m from Venezuela, feel welcome to come!

thanks for the advice. I will have a look at Venezuela :)

Oh no, as much as I love my country (so much I'm still living here and I refuse to leave) DON'T come here. And our spanish is not so neutral. We speak really fast and cut of some words ha ha. I've heard the best speaking spanish is from colombia. I honestly think colombia is your best option.

there's always someone like you...

We have beautiful places to visit. And people here are really friendly, but the situation we are living right now is really not the best. I have to be really honest. I'm a photographer and I can't take my camera out and do street photography. Do leave us in your bucket list for a near future when things get better.

So sad to read this, but I understand. Sometimes a country goes through upheaval and temporarily it isn't a good place for people unfamiliar with it to travel. Sounds like it is very challenging even for those of you from there right now. I truly hope things get better soon. We are having problems with governments all over the world right now. May the will and well-being of the people prevail.

It's has been hard years for so many countries right? I hope we all learn from our mistakes and help each other heal.

That does seem quite rough to be there at the moment. I hope things get better and I will be visiting sometime in the future. no doubt

In my opinion it is Brazil or Argentina, when I came there, I almost didn't understand Spanish, but after visiting this countries I could understood it well!

thanks for the advice. I will research into both areas. greatly appreciate it

the reason why you didn't understand the spanish in Brazil might be because they speak portuguese

I recommend definitely Colombia, either in Bogota or Medellin which are the two biggest cities. Besides knowing a beautiful country, the Spanish language there is pure, people do not speak in English, so it is very easy to learn, speak and practice all the time. I have traveled all South America and I must say that Colombia is the country that handles a neutral Spanish most similar to the original Spanish language. The best of all is that Colombia is now a safe country, with super friendly and warm people, a place where you will feel at home.

Awesome! Thanks for commenting and for the advice. It is hugely appreciated. How long did you spend in Columbia & how is your Spanish?

Look into Chile. The Patagonian regions are especially interesting. The people are calm and friendly, and the geography offers some spectacular opportunities for outdoor activity.

Check it out.

Hola @thomasjmitchell . Te recomiendo que vayas a Colombia y muy especialmente Medellin. El español que se habla en Colombia es muy correcto, pronuncian bien las palabras sin cortarlas, y usan un español con palabras muy educadas. El acento que tienen tambien es muy bonito. Saludos y espero que aprendas a hablar muy bien el español. Saludos!

Hey @thomasjmitchelle , better you go Brazil . U can easily hooked with a girl there. Freinding a girl can make yo learn a new language from her so fast.

although it's going to be harder to learn spanish in a portuguese speaking country

Lucky you! I've heard Colombia is amazing. I'm sure you're going to have a great time there :) keep learning! I know what you're going through. I'm trying to learn Spanish as well :)

I highly recommend this place outside of Guatape, Colombia! That's a link to a post of my experience there some months ago now! If you go, say hello to Paola from @wolfcat and I! We had a great time and really improved our Spanish quite a lot!

That place seems amazing!! Thank you very, very much for the advice - hugely appreciated! I will let you know if I get there or not. Question. How good was your Spanish prior to going there?

Go to Argentina, where they speak Italian Spanish.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66531.19
ETH 3487.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63