Spanish for English Speakers: Episode 2 - Introducing Yourself

in #spanish7 years ago

¡Hola amigos de Steemit!

We're not quite at the meet-the-parents stage, but it's about time we introduce ourselves! First, let's talk names ...

¡Hola! Me llamo [name]. - Hello! My name is [name]. (Remember: in Spanish, ll is pronounced like the y in young and yeast. So: May-yamo.)

Soy [name]. - I am [name].

¿Y tú? - And you?

¿Cómo te llamas? - What's your name?

¿Cómo se llama? - What's your name? (Formal)

Mucho gusto. - Nice to meet you. (The other person might reply El gusto es mio, which just means nice to meet you too.) 

Next, where you're from ...

¿De dónde eres? - Where are you from?

Soy de [country]. - I am from [country].

Soy [nationality]. - I am [nationality]. (More on countries and nationalities in a later episode!) 

And finally, how old you are ...

¿Cuántos años tienes? - How old are you?

Tengo [number] años. - I'm [number] years old. (Literally: I have [number] years.)

That's all for this episode! By now you probably know a greater variety of introductions than a Spanish native! Once again thank you for reading, and I hope this post has been helpful. If you're following these episodes, or just passing by, please do introduce yourself in the comments below. In Spanish, of course ...

- The Loopy Linguist

Sort:  

@davidconstantine thanks! These nice comments make my day :) happy you enjoyed it

Very well narrated the post.... One of the beat post. I have upvoted your post hope you will read my post and if you like them then do follow me nd upvote me.

@sid9999 thank you! Saw that cryptocurrency was in the title of your last post and my finger clicked follow of its own accord! Very interesting topic :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 62772.18
ETH 3154.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86