Spanish for English Speakers: Episode 10 - Talking About Jobs

in #spanish7 years ago


¡Hola amigos de Steemit!

Jobs are another topic that's likely to come in conversation, so here are a few phrases to help you.

¿Cuál es tu profesión? - What's your occupation/profession?

¿A qué te dedicas? - What do you do for a living?

¿En qué trabajas? - What work do you do?

¿Dónde trabajas? - Where do you work?

Soy ... - I am ... (remember: you don't need the indefinite article between soy + job.)

actor/actress - el actor/actriz, baker - el panadero/la panadera, chemist - el químico/la química, doctor - el médico/la médica, engineer - el ingeniero/la ingeniera, firefighter - el bombero/la bombera, gardener - el jardinero/la jardinera, hairdresser - el peluquero/la peluquera, interpreter - el/la intérprete, journalist - el/la periodista, lawyer - el abogado/la abogada, musician - el músico/la música, nurse - el enfermeno/la enfermena, optician - el óptico/la óptica, postman - el cartelo/la cartela, railwayman - el diputado/la diputada, scientist - el científico/la científica, teacher - el profesor/la profesora, unemployed - (el) desempleado/(la) desempleada, vet - el veterinario/la veterinaria, writer - el escritor/la escritora.

For example: Soy bombera. - I am a firefighter (female).

Where do you work?

Trabajo en + name of company = Trabajo en Tesco's. - I work at Tesco's.

Trabajo en + un/una + type of workplace = Trabajo en un hotel. - I work in a hotel./Trabajo en una oficina. - I work in an office.


It's that simple! These phrases are an essential for getting to know somebody in Spain, and hopefully they were delivered in a fun, easy way! I tried to include a variety of jobs, but if I missed out yours just let me know and I'll add it. Thanks for reading!

- The Loopy Linguist

Sort:  

Thank you I am following you, I hope you will also follow up vote me this honor to me

Congratulations @theloopylinguist! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got your First payout
You got a First Reply

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63841.10
ETH 3299.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.92