Melancholy Street - Joaquín Sabina - Espanish to english

in #spanish8 years ago (edited)

Melancholy Street. By Joaquín Sabina

Like the one that travels
On the back of a sombre mare
Over the route of the town
Won't you ask where?

I seek perhaps an encounter
to brighten up my day
But I don't find anything but doors
That deny what they hide away

The factory chimnies pour
There vomit of smoke upto a sky
that each time seems to be
Higher up and further away
Across their ocre walls
the juice spills out
from the fruit of a human
that's grown in the asphalt turf

Now the fields will be green
It must be spring...
Passing right before my eyes
Goes a runaway train

The neighbourhood where I live
Is no kind of prairie
Just a desolate landscape
Of antennaes and telephone wires

I live in number 7
Melancholy street
I've been wanting to move for years
To the neighbourhood of happiness
But each time I try to
The train has already left
So I sit down on the stairwell
And whistle my melody

Like the one that get's on board
Of a boat that's driven mad
That comes during the nighttime
And goes out to the middle of nowhere

As such, my feet descend
the slope of the forgotten
Fatigued of so much walking
without ever finding you
Later
on returning home
I light up a cigarette
order my papers
resolve a crossword puzzle
I get angry with the shadows
That inhabit the corridor
And I throw my arms round the empty space
That you leave in my bed
I climb from your memory
Like a vine creeper
That never finds any windows
To cling on to
I'm that absurd disease
that the pavements also suffer
If you every want to find me
You already know where I'll be

I live in number 7
Melancholy street
I've been wanting to move for years
To the neighbourhood of happiness
But each time I try to
The train has already left
So I sit down on the stairwell
And whistle my melody

Calle melancolía

Como quien viaja a lomos
De una yegua sombría
Por la ciudad camino
No preguntes a donde

Busco acaso un encuentro
Que me ilumine el día
Y no hallo más que puertas
Que niegan lo que esconden

Las chimeneas vierten
Su vómito de humo
A un cielo cada vez
Más lejano y más alto

Por las paredes ocres
Se desparrama el zumo
De una fruta de sangre
Crecida en el asfalto

Ya, el campo estará verde
Debe ser primavera
Cruza por mi mirada
Un tren interminable

El barrio donde habito
No es ninguna pradera
Desolado paisaje
De antenas y de cables

Vivo en el número siete
Calle melancolía
Quiero mudarme hace años
Al barrio de la alegría

Pero siempre que lo intento
Ha salido ya el tranvía
En la escalera me siento
A silbar mi melodía

Como quien viaja a bordo
De un barco enloquecido
Que viene de la noche
Y va a ninguna parte

Así mis pies descienden
La cuesta del olvido
Fatigados de tanto
Andar sin encontrarte

Luego de vuelta a casa
Enciendo un cigarrillo
Ordeno mis papeles
Resuelvo un crucigrama

Me enfado con las sombras
Que pueblan los pasillos
Y me abrazo a la ausencia
Que dejas en mi cama

Trepo por tu recuerdo
Como una enredadera
Que no encuentra ventanas
Donde agarrarse

Soy esa absurda epidemia
Que sufren las aceras
Si quieres encontrarme
Ya sabes dónde estoy

Vivo en el número siete
Calle melancolía
Quiero mudarme hace años
Al barrio de la alegría

Pero siempre que lo intento
Ha salido ya el tranvía
En la escalera me siento
A silbar mi melodía

Sort:  

Hola Marta. Ya he posteado mi artículo sobre mitología y folklore de Argentina en castellano o español. Es una versión ampliada, con detalles y yapas (bonus) que hacen entender mejor algunas cosas del mismo. Queod a tu entera disposición y la de los hermanos y hermanas hispanohablantes. Saludos desde Santa Fe, Argentina y que tengas un excelente fin de semana :) . Y no fue ninguna obligación ni carga. Es un gusto, mujer.

nice song LOL :)

I'll make some jokes later to cheer you up!

I'm not sure you get it. But I 'll keep an eye to see what you do

I understood the song, but I kinda feel that you are melancholic

You always get me out a smile !! Prince of humor !!

I think we have exceeded the number of reply. This is a mess

But my melancholy is not about the theme song. I haven't a romantic break or anything like that .

melancholy can be caused with little things

Thank you,those are really nice lyrics.Is there some video or sound file that you could add,so we can listen to the original?

Of course. This is one of my favorite versions . Its life.

Muy buen post @martaspn, votado.
Ahora está malito :(

No sabía nada. Tienes razón. Sabes qué? Yo creo que siempre nos meten el miedo en el cuerpo antes de una gira. Me da que es una estrategia de marketing en plan... "voy a comprar la entrada por si es el último concierto que hace". (Soy muy malpensada!)
Ojala tenga yo razón y esté bien! De momento me gusta la idea de dejar grabado a Sabina en la blockchain!! Aquí es inmortal.

Uy, ahora que lo dices... Jajajaja. Mi madre también dice siempre eso de "piensa mal y acertarás"!
En cualquier caso, yo también espero que sea eso, no hay muchos genios como este.

Tu madre es de las mías! Espero que tengamos genio para rato y que nos siga dando estas alegrías que solo él sabe darnos! Creo que repetiré más post como este.

Very good theme of Joaco. I admire more the Nano but Joaquin I like the way he writes and as sings. Greetings from Argentina to the motherland and land of my grandparents. Have a nice Tuesday Marta.

I like more "el flaco". Anyway I love them both. I will share some of the Nano. You should prefer this version . Enjoy it. And happy Tuesday to you too.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 60968.19
ETH 2367.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56