Quick Post

in #spanish6 years ago

Just a Thought

Hola, buenos dias amigos de Steem!

While working considerably less on my spanish lessons as of late, I still find time to practice with my spanish-speaking coworkers and while doing so today I had a reckoning that will change my mentality going forward:

Think before You Speak

Sounds simple, many of us have been told this our entire life. But in that moment I truly understood. As spanish is a second language for me, I almost always have to consider the words and sentence structure before actually speaking. And even though that process gets easier and faster as I progress, I'm not sure it will ever be as fluid as my first language.

That concept, however, applies to more than just learning another language. It is equally applicable to YOUR FIRST LANGUAGE.

I'm probably damn near the worst offender when it comes to not considering my words (and their power) before I speak. But this little lesson in disguise has taught me much and given me days worth of consideration. Just as I have to think about what I say in spanish in order for it to make sense, so must I do the same in my regular speech to back up the claims of personal life changes I say I am making. Namely being considerate and compassionate, even to those who are cruel or rude to me.

Thanks for dropping in, talk to you soon. Remember, we #carryon lest we become carrion.

Hasta luego, tengo muchas cosas que hacer hoy!

Sort:  

Something you've come a long way on. Both of us have. I guess when you talk about the things we talk about, you're forced to consider your words more carefully. It's spilled into more normal conversation as well.

Carry on :)

Beautiful. It is true, the constant pressure, if you call it that, to work to be better, in effect, does make us better. I love it and despite the pain of having to make difficult changes, I crave the discipline that is derived from making the choice to be better. Always love the support from someone on the same path. You carry on!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 60993.82
ETH 3387.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49