You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Witness Update: Introducing @mack-bot!

in #spaminator7 years ago

Very cool! Many users of Steemit.com are getting fed up with bot comments and something like this could really help. I was thinking of doing something similar with a "mute list" of sorts which people could crowdsource and use to ignore the noise.

At the same time, I wonder if muting accounts is enough as muted accounts could be voting up their own comments to take from the rewards pool without providing any value and it would be harder to spot if they are mostly muted. Either way, I love seeing innovations like this working to improve things. Well done!

Sort:  

Thank you. I'm working on streamlining some things for @spaminator & @steemcleaners that will get the community projects involved in preventing rewards being paid out to accounts that post spam & other abuse.

The service bots are another problem but I've been on the fence and I really just encourage the community to flag them if they don't like them and upvote them if they do. I don't feel that it should be up to one person or group to decide what is or isn't beneficial to the community in that regard.

I'm going to publish a post under @spaminator soon on the importance of community participation in flagging as a way to provide feedback to bot owners.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59236.61
ETH 2600.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42