Sort:  

Looks like a bot using a double translation to me.

Here's some fun for you:

When translated from English to Azerbaijani (using Google translate) "I like to watch lightning bugs."

Translates to :"Yıldırım hatalarını izləmək istəyirəm"

When that is translated back to english it says: "I want to watch the lightning errors"

The bots are getting better at doing what they do.

I had a look at his page, and he has a great command of English. He may be testing a plagiarism bot, or just playing games. I suspect the former, but I dunno.

Somali is a lot of fun to translate, and Burmese just doesn't seem to be translatable to English. Whole pages of threads on 4chan were devoted to Somali translation. Utterly hilarious.

Indeed or such inferior replications of genuine phrases are being scribed by non-humans with poor language, or individuals are merely sprinting them through google translate through a language, and back then to English, or merely perusing of a thesaurus to modify the wording.

The dastardly fiends! ;cP

Its obviously an attempt at piggy-backing off of the logic in others' posts safe in the knowledge that they just need to reword things around so as not to be called plagiarists.

The worst would be were these algorithms to succeed - and then up-vote themselves to bury the original content further down the list.

I feel that they should be treated as spam more than anything - but they cannot be auto-detected. Its a potential issue.

Perhaps disabling up-votes on users consistently flagged might be interesting.

LOL

What's interesting to me about @rabeel is that he writes English very well. Perhaps this is some form of entertainment for him? I don't really see what benefit, other than practicing coming up with synonyms, might be achieved from this.

Also, the other time I noted this kind of comment, it was a different user. So there's at least two of them. Perhaps a competition between them?

Dunno. Weird.

decisions..decisons.
flag or mute.
I can't decide what to do!

oh yeah...muting costs me nothing.
flagging costs me vote power.

the decision is obvious.

Well, @rabeel has some rep from doing this. A bot armed with rep concerns me. His rep is higher than mine, and a quick check of his blog shows he speaks English competently.

There's a reason this is being done, and just because I don't know what it is, doesn't keep me safe from it.

You know, that old saw "what you don't know won't hurt you." Well, I'm of the opinion that it is the things that you don't know that can hurt you the most.

Thanks!

Interesting... 🤔

I have found another example of the exact same thing.

On @abh12345's post analyzing @fulltimegeek's delegate's performance @teamhumble said:

"feel's good to keep the momentum going of the steemit universe you know, i also love the discovery side of things, just wish the filtering was better on the steemit frontend."

and @deybala later commented:

"feel's great to keep the energy going of the steemit universe you know, I additionally adore the revelation side of things, simply wish the sifting was better on the steemit frontend."

This is exactly identical to @rabeel's plagiaristic technique. There must be some program, a bot, that does this transformation of text.

I have asked for reason and method from both @deybala and @rabeel, but honestly don't expect such explication from them. I reckon they are plagiarizing for some nefarious reason, and therefore won't discuss it.

It's a weird way to gain upvotes, IMHO, and prolly not very emunerative, as it necessitates weak language, and draws attention to the plagiaristic intent. The only real benefit I can see is that occasional upvotes from such comments can give a bot rep, which ordinarily bots don't get any of.

"feel's good to keep the momentum going of the steemit universe you know, i also love the discovery side of things, just wish the filtering was better on the steemit frontend."

the little shits. hate that, we need more investment in AI on steemit. .. ;( but then i guess they will only build similar ones with AI. never ending battle. that's some weird abstraction.

At least you can feel content that it was your comment that was plagiarized. It is indeed true that imitation is the sincerest form of flattery.

lol. content about content. that's a new one on me ;) i suppose it's better than getting the plague also.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 60480.09
ETH 2363.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65