Stop Spamming in the Comments Section; I Won't Check Out Your Profile Just Because You Sucked Up to Me without Reading the Post

in #spam7 years ago (edited)

Steemit has seen an influx of new users lately. No doubt due to the increased price, and more recently HF19 that has increased rewards for smaller users.

Steemit is growing, great.

But growth comes with its negative side effects, unfortunately.

A recent annoying phenomenon is people, usually new users, commenting stuff like "Great post, awesome information, very cool read, you're the best person ever, now please upvote and follow me!"

The money aspect of Steemit is sure to attract people like this, and it's understandable, but I'm taking a stand against this. Not only will I not check out your profile, if I notice someone doing a lot of "advertisement" spamming, I may consider downvoting.

Every comment gives me a notification, and every pointless notification wastes my time, and wasting my time is the easiest way to annoy me. I'm the only one allowed to waste my time - and I do it so damn much, I don't need anyone's help.

When you spam, you just make yourself look like an idiot, and intelligent people - who are the ones whose support you want when growing your page - will look down on you, and the reputation of a moron is a hard one to shake off.

So, it's in your best interests to act more mature.

I'm also not interested to hear positive feedback on my writing from people who didn't read the posts. In fact, I'm more interested in negative feedback on my writing from people who read them. Constructive, negative feedback as a whole is something I think Steemit still kind of lacks. Though it's understandable since a lot of people can't really take criticism. I can, though, so no worries.

I have no interest in someone just blindly sucking up to me.

Also, the lying is so blatant; I kid you not I've had "This was a very 'informative post', check out my blog" on a chapter of my fictional story.

Not only are you a spammer, you're a liar, and why should I pay any attention to a liar? Why should anyone?

Work on your posts, promote them, and make constructive comments, and intelligent people will take notice of you. Every spammer I've seen on my comments section is on my personal blacklist, and will receive nothing from me, unless there's a really good reason.

I think the community as a whole should be a bit more strict towards this kind of behavior.

Thanks.

Sort:  

Wow this is shocking news to me . I have never seen , or heard or did any of the things you suggested above. Commenting on a post without reading it ? Who does that ?

Nice post! Very great content. Also very beautiful picture. Please resteem, upvote, follow, give me money and masturbate my penis for me. Thank you, I love you. Kind regards, your new best friend.

I just had a similar idea for commenting but without the penis section.

It was the penis sextion.. that made the comment so brilliant, clever and dare I say even art deco? Better luck next time. Resteemedupvotedfollowed

Intelligent Humor ™

hahahha give this man the trophy already!

Wow, rarely I find another person who loves spam, it's my favourite food! Upvoted, resteemed and hope you check out my latest post too. Xoxo Fangirl91

Thats the funniest thing I've ever read! PS: please resteem, follow and upvote, I'll add you if you add me. Please make a small donation, I'm dying of acute cancer in my upvote-hemisphere of the brain.

I know you're my fangirl.

I'm just here hoping you don't really like to eat Spam...

Wouldn't that be a tragedy!

@eveuncovered @schattenjaeger yeah he has a very valid point , more users more spam , very good post hope you get lots of good feedbacdk to on ya book

I can't afford the real Spam, we have to settle for the Aldi brand.

It's still pretty good.

Maybe save up so you can enjoy it on a special day, like christmas!

Oh Christmas is Corned Beef Hash! ;-)

Great photo! Please have a look at mine!

But seriously:

Hear hear!

There is also no need for these inane comments: the making of sycophantic comments has evolved into an artform on Steemit.

Find examples under whale postings, adapt those first, and then learn to craft your own. They will look much better, and some people with big wallets may even fall for them.

Or just don't.

Great comment. Truly impressive. You have inspired me with this comment, my dear good old friend. I'm sure my post about my cat will be valuable to you, have a look.

Please follow and resteem and let's enjoy the Steemit experience together!

=D

Grovel on!

Even more magnificent work!

Something something, joke about resteem, follow me, upvote to all my post, something something. Something something joke about how everyone made that joke and now it's old... something.... I followed you because of the woman in space post.

I can beat you there, mate. I've had "Nice story, i really enjoy the pics". What a pile of shite!

Hope your post makes the rounds. Good job, buddy!

spam fritters are pretty good, especially with pickle!

I agree that many people can't take criticism. I'm like you in that I grow as a human being by learning from re-evaluating my misperceptions of reality.

However, I do experience some hesitation when it comes to criticizing religious absurdities. Purveyors of his kind of behavior have been elevated to a protected class in Western Civilization. Imagine, blasphemy laws in Northern Europe?

In the Islamic Civilization, it is a matter of life and death to go against "God's Law" as dispensed gratuitously by your fellow humans. When you don't see it their way, it's simple. They just chop off your head.

There should be a clone of Steemit for thinkers. We have Busy and ChainBB. How about a Think.it?

The only problem there is that everyone thinks they can think. I like the idea. Maybe if the system provided an "idiot" logo below every post so readers could call it what it was, when the idiot reached the critical mass of votes, everything created by him/her would disappear. Sort of a virtual beheading!

There is a definite need for some depth to the voting experience. Steemit votes are upvote, flag or novote. The 0 -100 slider adds an intensity dimension only to the upvote. Steemit could be like 4chan. If the flags reached a critical mass, steemians would go to your home and and protest wearing masks. You'd get blacked out pages on your fax machine and all sorts of weird messages on your phone. Steemit computer talent is quite formidable and with a little organization it would be easy for Steemit to morph into something akin to Anonymous and the "Occupy" global happening.

That's possible, but maybe a bit beyond the scope of my idea. Just a simple destruct button would work for me. I like the "if I can't see you, you don't exist" approach.

Moreover, it's often people who can't who are the ones who think they can. :)

Dunning-Kruger.

Wow, a completely unrelated conversation goes to the topic of Islam in an hour, and I wasn't even the one instigating it, haha.

Can you blame them? They keep getting away with it. You're probably one of the few people to take a stand. There are countless others not doing their part. At the beginning, I remember a guy who would just post "I like your post" on every single post I made. I guess for whatever reason, I just gave him an upvote. After about 20 times, I had to stop giving him an upvote, because like you say, it just began to annoy the shit out of me. Nice post (sincerely). Hopefully it brings some awareness to the issue.

meep

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64534.17
ETH 3150.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01