Making Ham from Spam ?steemCreated with Sketch.

in #spam7 years ago (edited)


Personally I joined the Steemmunity to connect with other like minds, get some of my creative juices flowing and on 'paper'. Sharing content with people that will add value to their lives is what it's about for me. I also have a strong opinion about certain things and like to add my 2 cents here and there in a respectful manner.


Spam should be cooked in a pan - you don't Steem it!

Granted, I am not a seasoned Steemian, just a newbie here, but I have noticed a dramatic increase in 'low quality', pasta-la-basta content being shared here. Many comments that I see are nice, but don't add any value to the post itself and sometimes has nothing to do with the subject being discussed!

Am I the only one noticing this or being affected by it? 

How can we make ham out of the spam?

Here are some idea's that I have that might help:

  • Communicate with the spam-artists and educate them (help them realize that posting something where an effort has been invested is more sustainable in the long ruin - it benefits everyone here!)
  • Flag them right off the bat? (too drastic and a negative approach?)
  • Ignore them and wait until their reputation hits rock bottom?
  • wait for Cheetahbot to pounce and devour its prey?

Like I stated, I'm just a green-Steemian - maybe the anti spam is all automated... any ideas or thoughts are welcome! Leaving a constructive comment on how to tackle this problem below would be great!


Cheers... and thanks for reading & participating

Sort:  

Tip #2 For Spammers: When commenting on a post, please read it (or look at it) first - then reply with a comment that relates to that post. Do this in a respectful, informative or funny way and people will get value from it!

Tip #1 For Spammers: Don't focus so much on the money - focus on something of quality that people would like to read and can benefit from! If it's worthy, the money will follow

Tip #3 For Spammers: Pick a topic you know and are passionate about - start writing about that! It doesn't have to be perfect, nobody's going to judge your work. Just get something creative or useful out there in Steemlandia!

I think educating spammers is the best bet, especially this early on in the platforms development.

I initially joined Steemit to make a quick buck and have quickly realised this isn't what it's about - although I didn't do any spamming I feel like many people who are new to the platform should rather be informed of how to (and how not to) use it.

They can then make the decision to either use it properly, get burned or lose interest.

Thanks for the great reply - good that you state Steem is not for the quick buck, more about being an positive addition to the Community!

No you are not the only and I think it will only get worse before it gets better. I have been reluctant to hit the flag as I just don't like being that person but I do think we need to be more proactive as a community. I think educating helps a little bit but will mostly fall on deaf ears and I like to think that once they see no money coming in they will get disenfranchised and leave... but there a lot of people in the world lol.

... we should leave behind Don't Feed or Pay' sticker-gifs?

I love spam when it's fry... but i hate it in steemit! Who steem span?

... spam goes in the bin.

Love your style.. I shall become a follower.. long as you don't paste any more spam pics!!

Good to have some tins of spam in storage... stuff lasts forever ;)

Congratulations @nzfxtrader! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @nzfxtrader! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received
Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60023.73
ETH 3191.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45