Who is kibbjez? Serial Spammer of ",". Vote Bot-net Operator? Harmless Programmer?

in #spam7 years ago

I spend a lot of my time on Steemit looking for abuse and attempting to educate about it, generally without flagging. I try to educate people about it directly rather than create abusive flagging bots that damage the community, as some fools who do not understand delegation and sock-puppets are currently doing.

Kibbjez is probably best known for spamming comments that just say ",", or as "Dude with really weird display name" as he is known around my condo:

Kibbjez 3.png

Every 5 days or so, he seems to make a normal comment. Odd.

So, naturally, I attempted to engage with him:

Kibbjez 2.png

Of course, he ignored me, and continues to do whatever it is he does. Which, at the moment, I'm not entirely sure what that is. If I had to guess, he's testing a botnet capable of delivering thousands of votes, yet I don't see any evidence of him actually draining the reward pool.

Kibbjez.png

Nefarious future plan, or bored bot-net programmer?

To be clear, I'm not really leveling any accusations at Kibbjez. Aside from spamming worthless comments at a low rate, he's doing nothing wrong. I don't see any reward pool drain coming from his account.

However, this does look like he's engaged in some past testing for bots, and could theoretically use this to drain the reward pool. There is another account operating a similar scam, where he has created 3000 bot accounts that trail him and upvote with delegated SP, and this is certainly the kind of testing I'd expect for a project like that.

Mostly, I wrote this because I'm curious. @kibbjez, what's up buddy?

See my expose the consistent spam in Trending and rewards pool abuse of the BookingTeam.com ring here:

https://steemit.com/curation/@lexiconical/exposing-advertiser-circle-jerks-in-trending-reward-pool-rape-and-bookingteam-com

Sort:  

Well, I'm just thankful that you are actively monitoring such behavior. I think it is absolutely reasonable to request clarification of his intentions.

Here Kibby Kibby Kibby. Here Kibby....

Funny yesterday I wrote about SPAM. but not exactly this specific. It's such an annoyance and Im seeing a lot more of it. I guess its the double edged sword of steemit blockchain. Hard to hid the garbage.

How do these bots get so many followers.. i usually look up a persons previous posts before i follow them

I think this is a case of someone creating a ton of accounts and running them all themselves. So, they follow themselves.

Interesting...I've never noticed that. But a guy that's been on here over a year and is only following 3 people...I agree he isn't doing anything "wrong" but he doesn't seem too interested in adding to the platform. Seems fishy to me.

I don't really have a problem with him doing this, presuming he's not planning a bot-net takeover.

I hear ya, but I, too and curious as to if he responds and what his reasoning for it might be. I know @ausbitbank just posted an article about it since he has been flagging those types of posts.

Thanks, I'll check that out.

Yeah, that's exactly the botnet I was referring to in my OP. Thanks.

images.jpg

follow and resteemed your post

Thanks for your support. I hope we get an answer from the @kibbjez man himself, I'm curious!

nice pos

That's a lot of created accounts just to upvote one guy's account, it is just gaming the system, pretty bad.

Tq for sharing :)
I Follow u, I m Sani, Indonesian , I love steemit
If u dont mind, Plz come to my account @kakilasak :)

all i said was "loveit" to a video and you dwonvoted my post...scummy regious freak im guessing...take your judgement with you elsewhere

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65733.39
ETH 3506.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51