You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: HF19: Is This What We Want? (Spam Self Vote Galore)

in #spam7 years ago

I'll call that abuse. I am not a fan of the self-upvote for comments. I have done it once or twice to get my comment at the top of the list for more visibility, but in connection curating for the @foraging-trail, to put key foraging information at the top of the comments. I don't feel right doing that, though. I think self-upvotes in the comment stream should require promotion spending, just like post promotions. They should not generation self-rewards.

Sort:  

I agree with this! BUT... it is predicated on a common goal we perhaps share, of maximizing value of the community.

That's not everyone's objective. A lot of people just "want to make money" and they could care a rat's rear end about how that happens, or what they DO to accomplish that.

Which takes us right back to the broader question of what the "greater purpose" of the organism known as Steemit... and is it even possible to reach consensus on an answer to that?

That's the issue at the base of it all, isn't it. But there's several layers of consensus -- the developers because they have to code the rules, the witnesses because they have to accept the code changes, and then us because we have to be willing to create the value within a setting where some folks are exploiting the comment system to generate personal returns without building community.

I'm under no delusion that Steemit the platform exists for us. It exists to demonstrate the value of blockchain as it's being developed. But I don't see how the value of Steem can continue to grow as people simply siphon off funds from other investors. And that affects all of us who are trying to grow the value of Steem -- and our quality participation here does contribute to that value, as we draw people in to use Steemit the blockchain and Steem currency.

Promotion fee for upvotes is brilliant. Sounds like a no brainer!

I would pay a fee like that to get my comment at the top of the list sometimes. Comments are just 'mini-posts' in much of the Steemit accounting anyway. So maybe it wouldn't even be so hard to do.

Me too. I can't really think of any problems with it...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62843.47
ETH 2468.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67