You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Trolling by @matrixdweller

in #spam7 years ago (edited)

Good luck. I don't flag people if I dislike them. I will only flag for spam, plagiarism, or abuse on a case by case basis.

I am not the type that would ever blanket flag someone. If it came to that I'd just mute them.

Yet both you and @matrixdweller have a very different belief on how the flag should/should not be used than I do.

I don't believe you can fix anything by doing the same negative thing someone else does.

"You flag me, so I'm going to flag you"
"Oh yeah, well I'm going to get my friends to flag you too"
"Oh yeah, ditto"

Seems like a negative net result across the board.

That doesn't mean I endorse the blanket flagging of you either. I don't believe you should be flagged unless you are spamming, abusing, or doing plagiarism... and honestly I don't expect any of that from you.

Though if you do subjectively flag, it should not be surprising that people that disagree with my perspective start subjectively flagging you.

That was one of my concerns with subjectively flagging. It just results in wars.

EDIT: And those wars you may not be concerned with as long as you believe you have the biggest guns. This is also not a perspective I agree with. I don't believe bigger guns mean you should be able to bully anyone.

EDIT 2: You could campaign to get people that follow @matrixdweller to stop following him though. That might be effective???

Sort:  

I agree with this, especially EDIT 2!
And flagging guys like @matrixdweller is like playing silly games with problematic kids, @berniesanders, you don't want to get down on his level

I was raised that two wrongs don't make a right. So I agree with all of your points. Just getting more people to flag and escalating that seems silly. Ignore the trolls and they stop getting what they want which is a reaction. By even considering mobilizing a downvote army you're giving them what they want. You'll never out-spam the spammers so why bother with it?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57684.56
ETH 3120.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33