Spam attack - Save us dev's !! @dan & Team STEEM

in #spam7 years ago (edited)

Great to have steemit notifications. Not so great to have spam notifications.

Don't worry, it's just a water gun.

(You have 24 hours)

I'd like to thank @iloveupvotes and his many sock puppet accounts (including @livehonest , @livemoral , @topikzmonster) for exposing a flaw in the notifications feature.

I'd be surprised if there are many people who don't know what I'm talking about since this user is frequently tagging hundreds of users in empty comments and posts.

I'd like to ask @dantheman, @ned, @sneak or any members of the development team to address this issue to find a solution? Perhaps removing tag notifications for accounts with minus reputation and also removing them from tagging users who have them muted.

THANKS GUYS GO TEAM STEEM 💪

While I have you

There's also a little confusing issue with editing comments. When clicking CANCEL of a post or comment edit steemit.com asks whether you are sure you want to clear the comment/post. But the comment edit is not being cleared, just the edit cancelled.

Could cause some confusion

Sort:  

This is a great application of the attention economy (/market) concept. With notifications as they are we are essentially giving away our attention to strangers for free, placing their messages with the same level of importance as those from our real friends. But an unsolicited message from a stranger can sometimes be genuinely important or valuable, so a system where notifications appear only if they are paid for, where the recipient sets the price, would eliminate spam while still allowing you to see what matters to you or what you are appropriately compensated for.

Put that in a post please lol

Absolutely with you on this one. I thought muting would help but it makes no difference

Following nice blog i guess might check it out someday :D

I'd like to have the ability to not see notifications of users below a certain rep that I set and maybe have a blacklist. Just my two cents. Waking up to a ton of notifications isn't my cup of tea.

In my two month absence I'm extremely happy to see many improvements to the site.

Great to see you back!! I hope you're well!

Thank you, I'm glad to be back! I'm doing much better!

The solution is: Don't attack good people with flags, and be fair in true value monetary & post values. The End. @iloveupvotes , @livehonest , @livemoral , @topikzmonster - Re: @beanz - WE ARE ALL EQUAL

I'm with you. Muting the account don't help. I think people who makes tagging spam has time to spare :(

the second point is a easy fix , it did leave an impression for me too .
make it "Are you sure you want to cancel the edit" or something

The first :D: D:D , notifications, lol , i have to say I wouldn't use them , great feature , but @ everyone :D :D :D copy paste tags, people do abuse systems , so i don't like to rely on them , I would rather have the chat and notify people there , when they are online , great , but here , if they want to check out something they should, I wouldn't yell at people, although I see the point for those accounts, the sad part is that all the whales will get spammed so the feature is a bit lax , normal , not sure how it can be fixed , apart from a cap on notifications speaking of posts :D and bots :D

here is a spoof I'm thinking of making a journal piece on the bots here :D
https://steemit.com/@tannukas6
check the 1st post and the upvotes on some of the comments

|a dark army abrew? :D

I think it's a bunch of sad people that get no vote's and there jealous when they see others getting votes.

We should be able to choose our own minimum rep score.
Ned and Dan would probably choose around 70, so they wouldn't see notifications when I tag them.
Same for comments on a post. Before you submit, you choose the minimum rep required to post a comment. It'd keep the trolls away, and attract big hitters.

This post has been ranked within the top 50 most undervalued posts in the second half of Feb 07. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $8.80 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Feb 07 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 62710.59
ETH 3048.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.77