The War Between Honest Hard Working Steemians And Spammers -Pt. 1-

in #spam7 years ago


As of now, Steemit is in danger more than you know, and it seems that if we don't do something about it and take a tremendous step toward improvement, steemit could be screwed.

Spam is a growing problem.

Spam is a growing problem on steemit, more and more people are joining and are spamming people with mindless comments like "I like your post upvoted please upvote my post" stuff like that. The upvote for upvote, follow for follow, or resteem for resteem type of deal. It's not only just individual people doing it as well, but it is massive amounts of bots controlled by a bunch of people. I mean check out this excerpt from @sherlockholmes article about the 1700+ accounts that are raping the steemit pool.

The accusation:

"Randomly scanning the blockchain for suspicious activities, a chain of votes on a seemingly innocent spam comment caught my eye. 19 votes from accounts with random-syllable usernames on a days old comment on a month old post.

Someone's clearly spamming for profit. I really did not expect this to lead to such an extend as it did, though!"

Excerpt from @sherlockholme's article: https://steemit.com/steemit-police/@sherlockholmes/case-7-raping-the-reward-pool-with-1700-accounts-things-are-getting-serious

Findings!!

"Observing the activities over the past few days I was able to connect a huge network of more than 1700 accounts involved in this industrially scaled farming operation! And the number is still growing!

It will be impossible and boring to describe how I dug into this chronologically, so I shall describe the situation structurally:

There are hundreds and hundreds of accounts doing exactly what I had witnessed in my "Accusation" above. These accounts transfer their rewards over to a few hub-accounts, these accounts then function as an extraction point for the ill-gotten gains, transferring the accumulated money out of the platform."

Excerpt from @sherlockholme's article: https://steemit.com/steemit-police/@sherlockholmes/case-7-raping-the-reward-pool-with-1700-accounts-things-are-getting-serious

The Gateway of money laundering...

"@imenosblis; @ramoxingfruc; @unbuinibel; @malmbertdorla; @fawealmati; @simphifinking; @findtigeharg; @pidarlambnews

A look at their wallets will show the vast array of accounts sending in money, and it shows they have already successfully extracted 198 SBD.

That doesn't sound like much, but consider this has only been running for roughly 3 weeks, all the gains are only the SBD share of 2 weeks of farming, and with every vote, the SP behind this network grows, exponentially strengthening this operation!"

Excerpt from @sherlockholme's article: https://steemit.com/steemit-police/@sherlockholmes/case-7-raping-the-reward-pool-with-1700-accounts-things-are-getting-serious

So, I did my fair share of flagging...

As you can see, I flagged some of the points of extraction of the whole money laundering scheme that was listed above.

Screenshot from 2017-08-14 10:34:50.png

That is only one example of a time that I flagged one of these spammers, I did it a bunch. We need to clean up steemit. There are so many spammers on here and they need to be stopped, I mean god damn, 1700+ accounts and growing spam accounts? Steemit is really in danger.

All I can say is im thankful for the @sadkitten @spaminator bots that are flagging these people. I'm sure there are more bots helping out with this problem as well, and hopefully someone will maek more spam fighting bots.

What pisses me off is i'm working hard on steemit making posts and helping others, and the way I see steemit is a way to get me out of my life situation right now, which isn't very great. I don't want to go into details about that but I feel that steemit is the "light at the end of the tunnel" for me and my family. This is our chance at succeeding and having a better life, and I will not have it taken away by a bunch of spammers!

hold-up.gif

Better watch out, Spammers.

-I have hope for my life,family, and friends thanks to steemit-1.png

Sort:  

I feel even well-intentioned things like the minnow support project has gotten out of hand as well. Sub-communities need to be relatively small in number, 10-50 people... not hundreds auto-upvoting each other's work.

A little of that is fine, curation-trails, etc. Those are to help aggregate SP and truly assist those that create great content move up in power, prestige and earning potential.

Great post, upvoted/resteemed. And let's hope the bots are able to counter this unneeded distraction.

Maybe shutdown the Api for bots would be a good idea.

Steemit has so much potential for the future, but seeing all these spam accounts and posts really cheapens the experience. Who will want to join when half of everything on here is spam? I wanted to get involved because of the genuine individuals who are making posts.

im fairly new to steemit but already i have noticed what appear to be fairly new, innocuous accounts with tons of money. i don't know enough about trading or powering up or whatever it is to decide on what they are doing to generate so much income, but perhaps a system of flags for suspicious wallet activity? in any case i'd like to help.

I've noticed that too but didn't realize the reason behind it.. such a crying shame.. Steemit seems like such a great idea too

@alex-icey - I'm totally agree with Alex. System should be fair and reward quality work by fellow steemians.

Nice Post!!!!


Better watch out, Spammers....jajajaja

PS: You have my Vote

Do not take it wrong, I would appreciate you helping me with a vote in my blog @raziell

I've only been here a week and I have noticed this too. Please don't let them spoil it for us all. Keep up the good work and put a stop to these creeps.

What pisses me off is i'm working hard on steemit making posts and helping others

not only do the spammers interfere with that, but when you flag them, you lose that voting power in ways that could have other means benefited you

Congratulations @alex-icey! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published 4 posts in one day

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63792.82
ETH 2563.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66