You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: [Third Attempt] SpaceX launches 60 Starlink Satellites [24.05.19]

in #spacex5 years ago

Greetings, friend @bluerobo.

This is fascinating. At the same time it seems scary.
This number of satellites orbiting, interconnected and under the control of a single company or consortium, would theoretically allow an unprecedented technological penetration.

I do not know the nature of satellites (observation, communication, meteorological) and I think none of us will ever know it. But this is a tool of colossal magnitude that could be used for domination purposes in case of falling into the wrong hands.

What do you think about this? Am I being very fanciful?

All best, Piotr.

Sort:  

It is the second try to establish a worldwide constellation of communication satellites after the first try in the 90s. I wouldn't be too worried.
Their competition is ground based communication networks. And if the plan is successful, there will soon be more competing constellations. Amazon is already planning Kuiper which is a similar network.
I think it is a great way to spread knowledge worldwide cheaply by giving everybody access to the internet.
And it might still fail.

Posted using Partiko Android

Dear @bluerobo

I just realized that I never actually thanked you for your comment. Somehow I missed your reply and I only had a chance to read it now.

Cheers :)
Piotr

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 56766.86
ETH 2492.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36