Is Space Truly The Final Frontier?

in #space7 years ago

Hello everyone, this is my first ever post on Steemit! So I am a huge astronomy buff and I've quite recently been thinking to myself of how we all fit into this thing called the universe. I'm sure many of you have heard about the show, The Cosmos, narrated by none other than Neil Degrasse Tyson. This show is BRILLIANT. I've learned so much from watching the episodes.

So why am I asking this question? Well according to the show, our entire existence fits in the last second of the last hour of the last day on the cosmic calendar. What seems like hundreds of years to us, is only a blip in time. Our perception of the universe is limited by what we can see. So, this makes me wonder: what are we missing out on from the things we cannot see?

Space is measured mostly by how fast light travels. Those stars you see at night? The light cast from them are billions of years old. The planets in our solar system are closer and brighter. The light we see that bathes the earth in different colors shows us what kind of elements resides in that plant or animal we look at.

I believe that space is not the final frontier, but the beginning of a new understanding. Our final frontier is only what we decide is that final stop. If you keep wondering, learning, the bounds of the universe are limitless.

What do you think is our final frontier? Is it trapped in our minds or does it extend beyond the cosmos where we have yet to travel?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.13
TRX 0.12
JST 0.024
BTC 49842.52
ETH 2229.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.00