You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Phobos, moon of Mars

in #space7 years ago (edited)

A good opportunity is coming this year to see Phobos in an amateur telescope in July/August this as Mars is closest to us for some time. A great post as usual, the escape velocity is low enough you would have to be careful not jump of the moon! It would make walking on it almost impossible.

Sort:  

This is interesting, u have to bury your feet in the ground to not "launch"from Phobos.

Well the escape velocity is about 40km/hr so you would think it might be a bit of a stretch, but then again under such little gravity you could probably accelerate yourself to that velocity with a couple of skips.

That sounds like something I would do :D
Perhaps this will be easier once we have that base on Mars that Musk is talking about :D
It would be cost effective to launch missions to Phobos and Deimos with a low delta-v budget from Mars. Maybe you could post an article with it when it comes your telescope's way in July. I am sure to follow! I also post "sciency" stuff.

I did write an article recently for Mars, but it didn't get too much attention (Maybe closer to the time). btw I managed to image the Tesla Roadster last night...see my blog.

I expected more resolution but I should have known that it's a tiny tiny object so far away from the planet.

I predict a sport in the future called meteor hopping.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 67710.07
ETH 2614.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67