The Flame Nebula with some color issues and some over exposure.

in #space7 years ago

Flame.jpg

Located 1350 Light Years away, this is the Flame Nebula, and it is located in the roughly around Orion's Belt . The Flame Nebula is an emission nebula which contains a young star cluster in the center of it. This was taken using a telescope at Mt. Cuba an old observatory which is in a pretty light polluted region but the picture still came out okay.

Sort:  

I love photos of the edges of our universe, this is a great one! Have you seen the book Cosmos?

I got that book when I was a kid, I think I still have it. It is a great book, and now I think about it. It probably influenced my decision to get an undergraduate degree in Astrophysics. I am really excited to see what the James Webb Telescope brings back when it goes up to replace Hubble.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60157.20
ETH 2416.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43