You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Space Shuttle Challenger Disaster I Was There

in #space6 years ago

@chancellor Poor crew.. When I was living in Orlando, Florida in 2004-2005 I also was fascinated to see the launch of spaceship in live. So I went down from Orlando to Cape to watch it.
Unfortunately, after 2 or 3 hours of my waiting on the opposite shore from the launch area, due to the bad weather they shifted the launch. Fortunately I could see it later in Orlando sky) spaceship as a small lightning line in the sky turning into a small glimmering dot. Very exciting.

Sort:  

Yeah sometime between 1986-88 we moved to the Tampa Bay area where its difficult to see anything. I had planned for years to make a trip back to the other coast to see a launch but was always in fear of a delay or cancel and it being a wasted trip. It was something from the few launches I saw as a kid that I remembered. Even the Challenger launch was delayed several times over the span of 3 or so days before it launched. Thanks for the reply and upvote!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68034.95
ETH 3846.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66