You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Planet Mercury and what lies there

in #space7 years ago

I like the pictures and what you can tell is really interesting..till last year i had a big refraction telescope and at clear sky night i searched for planets...i saw many but my knowledge of the stars is not so good...they just fascinate me..i always wonder what else we gonna discover on other planets..also i think there’s much information that nasa don’t tell to us. as long as they be so mysterious i don’t believe anything they say. Thats why j bought a telescope..to see with my own eyes.

Sort:  

Getting a telescope is definitely the best way to see the planets for yourself. I don't own one myself, but when I've used other people's telescopes my favorite planet to look at is Jupiter because you can see the storms on the surface and all four of its giant moons in a line. Saturn is also really cool because of the rings and Titan being visible.

If I ever end up living somewhere after college without much light pollution perhaps I will get my own.

I wouldn't be too concerned about NASA hiding information, though. They have no motivation to hide anything, since the scientists behind any big discovery get a lot of fame and recognition.

Yeah that seems to be a logical explanation i never looked at it that way.

I also had less night i was able to use my telescope. The light pollution is also a problem where i live but here in holland i can drive to quiet places where i no or less light pollution.

I sold the telescope because the lens was getting to bad. I was quiet happy with it only thing i missed was a motor on it so it could stay aimed on an object. Or else it is very difficult to follow something you’ve spotted. But it stays fascinating to watch to the stars. With naked eye, telescope or that beautifull close ups. You always end up with more questions about things you cant see 😁👍🏻

The planets and moon are not really effected by city lights because they are already very bright. A good 6 or 8" telescope is quite inexpensive and can show Jupiter and Saturn very well, even some of the moons are visible. The moon is always spectacular and planets like Venus and Mercury show moon like phases, although you can't see any details. Mars shows polar caps as well as markings on it's surface.

As @Proteus-h mentioned NASA are not hiding anything, they are very forthcoming and work with amateurs, and do a lot of outreach. Don't listen to conspirators who typically after dollars/website views.

What size telescope were you able to clearly see the polar caps with? I haven't ever had any luck with the ones people I know own. Is it clear enough to get a picture of?

Mars details are something I absolutely want to see myself sometime.

In image I made with 12" Dobsonian in early June,2016, shows the polar areas pretty well and I suspect there was a far bit of cloud around the caps that obscured them.

marsfinal.png

Wow!!! This makes me want to go get a telescope, but I'd have to drive out somewhere to use it. That's such a cool image to have taken yourself.

I think I can see Olympus Mons there, but that could be a cloud.

Just checking the date and time for the image and that feature is indeed Olympus Mons :)

The polar caps vary a lot, not just from the normal season's caused by the axial tilt of Mars but because the orbit is actually quite elliptical and consequently its distance from the sun varies a lot. When they are developed I have seen them clearly in an 8" telescope.

I had a 14 inch refraction telescope. I bought this secondhand for a good price. I cant remember the brand. I must have some pictures of it. Also pictures i taked through the lens. I gonna search for them and i will post them here for you. I think a 6 or 8 inch telescope will be easier to use and more suitable for me.

14" Reflector? Either way that would be a handful to carry around! A small 6-8" scope gets used a lot more in my opinion :)

Yes it was a very big telescope with a tripod to put it somewhere. I had a nice spot in my backyard where i installes the whole thing...it was my first telescope. A more handful one would be perfect. I would love to buy one in the future..when you cab carry it with you should be great. Then you will get much more pleasure and will see more...with this big telescope i could find many objects but its hard to use it and not suitable to take it somewhere.

Optisan star 1000 114ii mirrortelescope. I bought it in 2014 second hand for 75 euro. I didn’t found the photo’s yet. I have about 15000 photos in my icloud so sorry for that but its hard to find. I promise as soon as i found them i let you know. When you are gonna buy i telescope i would like to hear your experiences with it. Have a nice day. Greetings

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63702.19
ETH 2490.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67