You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Why We Need To Colonize Other Planets

in #space7 years ago

I have always been reluctant to support humanity's curiosity regarding space travel and the colonising of other planets. This has probably been based on fear rather than rational thought. Your argument has made me question my poorly-thoughout original views. However I think that it is vital for humans to think wisely about our societal structures, since applying them to another planet of 'second chance' is only going to be followed by the same global issues which we face today. I sincerely hope that these can be shifted in the future, but until then, I do not think that it would be just to replicate what I consider to be a critical situation. If we were to use a second planet for resources, I think that it cannot come from a place of competition, like it has so often been the case in the past (e.g. the scramble for Africa). I'm somewhat sceptical about whether we are able to achieve this.

Sort:  

I totally agree with you that any new civilization that we will start on a new planet will have to be thought through very thoroughly. The same societal structure that we have simply won't work there. The concept od divisions is so old. The new age demands collaboration.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66094.73
ETH 3446.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66