Soylent Green: the film takes place in the distant future year of 2022 and I've never seen it

in #soylentgreen3 years ago

I'm going to download and watch it today. I have never heard of this film until I saw it featured in a meme that has the years of many popular sci-fi films from days sometimes long gone. I was surprised to find out that we are already 7 years ahead of when Back to the Future 2 took place.

Soylent Green is a dystopian end-of-times type film and it should be pretty funny to see what the filmmakers' idea of what 2022 would be like.


image.png
src

I'm guessing that Charlton Heston was in his prime around when this was made since it took place in the 70's and that was when the Planet of the Apes films were made but we also had really limited technology at that time so the movie could go either way. It could end up being pretty terrible and boring but I have a few days break from work so why not?


image.png
src

I've seen a few stills and the trailer for the film and noticed how even though they are trying to portray the year 2022 they didn't even try to make any sort of futuristic looking cars. Everyone who has made films about future cars has been extremely off about what they ended up looking like or what they could do. Like the fact that all cars were capable of flight in 2015 according to Back to the Future Part 2. I also noticed in the trailers that the soldiers are wearing football helmets, which is kind of amusing. I guess they just used whatever they could find and gave all the money to Heston.

The chaos that the world is facing right now because of Covid I suppose has some correlation to the dystopian nature of the film but I'm gonna toot my community's horn again and let everyone know that those limitations that most of the world is experiencing right now, we have NONE of them because our community decided that we were not going to tolerate it over a year ago. I don't want to get into that though because it will just get me all worked up for no reason.

The preview looks really old and that is just because it is really old. It is nearly 50 years old and that makes me feel old because I was born in the 70's!

So that's gonna be my afternoon. If you've seen it and have an opinion I'd be interested to hear what you think about it because I wont see your response until after I have already watched it.

Sort:  

Looks like a hoot!!

unfortunately it was pretty boring. It also has a very predictable ending and then abruptly ends with a lot of loose ends not tied off. One good thing is that during the gun fights they actually stuck to the rule of how many rounds a revolver is actually capable of holding and that was basically the only thing that impressed me about this movie. It was a long time ago so I guess we can forgive them :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58241.28
ETH 2648.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45