Ransom for all - Jew and Greek

in #sovereigngrace7 years ago (edited)

Sovereign Grace Objections Answered
image

Objection 1: Christ was a ransom for all men without exclusion

Proof text:
1 Timothy 2:6 KJVS
Who gave himself a ransom for all, to be testified in due time.

Answer:

On the contrary, Christ was a ransom for all men without distinction. This includes Jews, Gentiles and every other class of person under the sun. We know that the without exclusion interpretation is false because it puts Scripture against it self. This is why we must evalutuate the definition of pas (G3956) in the light of Scripture as a whole.

Here is an example of pas being used in a hyperbolical sense.

Mark 1:5 KJVS
And there went out unto him all the land of Judaea, and they of Jerusalem, and were all baptized of him in the river of Jordan, confessing their sins.

This doesn't preclude the "without exclusion" interpretation per se but it does show that pas doesn't always mean literally all... Unless you want to believe that literally every inhabitant of Judea to include paralytics, lepers, nursing women, toddlers and every other person in a region spanning 1350 square miles went to be baptized in which case I would recommend you have your head examined.

If that's wasn't compelling enough, all you need to do is open your Bible to John 10 starting at verse 15.

John 10:15-17,26-28 KJVS
As the Father knoweth me, even so know I the Father: and I lay down my life for the sheep. [16] And other sheep I have, which are not of this fold: them also I must bring, and they shall hear my voice; and there shall be one fold, and one shepherd. [17] Therefore doth my Father love me, because I lay down my life, that I might take it again. [26] But ye believe not, because ye are not of my sheep, as I said unto you. [27] My sheep hear my voice, and I know them, and they follow me: [28] And I give unto them eternal life; and they shall never perish, neither shall any man pluck them out of my hand.

Notice, that Jesus lays down His life for His sheep. Likewise His ransom is for His sheep who exist among all distinctions of men. There is clear indication that Jesus addresses they that are not of His sheep in the passage.

image
Was He a ransom for these as well? Of course not. Christ died for His bride. It is a special kind of love. The agape (unconditional) love from the One above. What a marvelous thing to behold!

Sort:  

This post has been ranked within the top 50 most undervalued posts in the second half of Mar 16. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $3.00 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Mar 16 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58194.53
ETH 2364.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37