My Backstory Part 1 of 3: The Beginning

in #southkorea7 years ago (edited)

CollegeGraduationPic2006_.jpg

I feel that I should tell people about my background before I start posting current/future content. I graduated from university in 2006 from the University of St. Thomas-Houston. I hold a Bachelor's of Business Administration with a concentration in Management Information Systems and a minor in Theology. I hold a master's in education with a concentration in English language learners (2013).

After I graduated from university, I worked for the state of Texas (in Austin, TX) as a Network Engineer. Soon after starting this "fancy" job, I decided it wasn't for me. 20 months later I quit. I didn't want to end up like my co-workers that never traveled or enjoyed life.

I quit my job with no safety net. I just knew I didn't want to work there. I moved back to Houston and thought about my life plans. About two weeks later, a friend called me and invited me to lunch. She said to me, "Chrys, I know you don't have any plans for your life at the moment. Why don't you follow me to Korea?" I left that lunch date with a lot of thinking to do.

I did some research and sent my resume out to several recruiters. I eventually had an interview with a Korean public school. The interview consisted of three questions:

  1. Do you have a degree?
  2. Do you have a passport?
  3. When can you get here?

Four weeks later (after gathering all my paperwork for my work visa), I was on a plane and headed to Hanam, South Korea. Thus began my overseas adventures.

4700_515868858259_5419695_n.jpg

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by xtdnrymompreneur from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56905.43
ETH 2398.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.26