My Backstory Part 2 of 3: Landing in South Korea

in #southkorea7 years ago (edited)

As I was preparing to leave the USA, everything felt so surreal. Even now everything is a bit of a blur. Once the plane landed in South Korea (March 2009), I got off the plane, collected my luggage and headed to the main entrance of ICN to catch my pre-booked taxi. It was night time when I arrived. I don't even remember how long it took to get from the airport to my new home in Hanam, South Korea.

I don't remember anything between the time the taxi started to the time the taxi stopped in front of the apartment complex I would be living in for the next year. I do remember the taxi driving opening his door and me sitting there with my head down thinking, "Holy shit. I just fucked up my life!"

The taxi driver unloaded my bags and helped me up to the 9th floor where my apartment was located. He rung the door bell, and the door swung open. On the other side was my new co-teacher. She was dressed in a really nice suit with a skin tight pencil skirt. She looked very worried and frantic. Earlier that evening she purchased fried chicken (Korean style) for me so that I could eat.

I was still in a bit of a daze. There were so many unfamiliar sounds and smells. My senses were overloaded. Not to mention being jet lagged didn't help any. My new co-teacher (Soosie) let me borrow her phone to call my mom. I dialed my mom's number. When she heard my voice she began to cry. I started to cry too. She told me to come home if I wanted to, but I told her I needed to see this (my new adventure) out. I said I love you and hung up the phone.

I ate some chicken and climbed into bed and quickly fell asleep. Eight hours later I was teaching.

519552546119.jpg

519552436339.jpg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 57190.65
ETH 2409.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.28