You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: 'The water crisis is so bad in CT People don’t even say “Damn”' - Barry Hilton

Hi chicane42 no shortage of rain here in Ireland. As an ex Capetonian I feel for you guys. You have global warming and we are entering a mini ice age. Definitely weird stuff going on. Good luck and hang in there.

Sort:  

It feels rather surreal in some respects. Of course, it would not have been as bad if most people had actually started using less water over a year ago.

I've been using three buckets in my shower for nearly two years now. I use it for the loo. We wash our hands over the dirty dishes in the sink to reduce water consumption and then the rinse water from the dishes goes to water the food producing plants that haven't yet died. When it rains, we collect the water from the down pipes for the few plants that haven't dried up.

Too many people just carried on wasting water as if this was all a joke. Now they say that 'they' should have built desalination plants. Yes, 'they' should have, but it's all politics. Now, it's all a very dry affair. On a positive note ... it did rain a little bit today. Doing a rain dance for more unusual summer rain.

Things sound bad there and looks like things are going to get a lot worse. Here we have the opposite with too much rain. I guess all you can do is take it one day at a time.

I don't dwell on it. I just go about my usual long day, and every night I have an even shorter shower before bed. It's so short now that I get less buckets out of water out of it hehe.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 58077.92
ETH 2457.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37