You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Sous-vide: Best beef steak ever? Or is it?

in #sous-vide6 years ago

I always wanted to try sous-vide cooking but never got to it. I would for sure sear the tuna steak to get a nice crust going nothing much, hot pan, 1 min each side and it would be perfect in my opinion :) great post waiting for the nex sous-vide.

Sort:  

It was a really hard decision for me. I am not used to not sear it, but i must say that i was really satisfied with the result. But a part of me still want to try the seared one, so I'll probably do both next time, to try which is better. But i would do this only with tuna, because it's so gentle in taste and gets dry instantly. I always sear Salmon - skin down of course and it's amazing from Sous-vide. Maybe I'll show that one in my next post in the future :)

I sure it was great with the sesame seed and all. I saw so many recipes on youtube for the sous-vide even a whole pig sous-vide and than spit-roasted. I wanted to ask if the sous-vide apparatus was expensive?

I bought Anova and with shipping it was around 140€ around a year ago. If i saw it correctly it's even cheaper now. Only around 100€ for bluetooth and 110 for wi-fi version (wi-fi version has a bit stronger heater as well, so i would recommend this one).

https://anovaculinary.com/

All i bought beside it was a large food grade plastic container for 10€. And in the beginning you can even start with simple zip-lock bags if you don't own a vacuuming machine.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 58068.07
ETH 3133.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44