Soundtrack Sunday - Forrest Gump

in #soundtracksunday6 years ago

Today's #soundtracksunday is a little late! My apologies! I've had a hectic week and weekend! But, last week's comments, @bozz actually highlighted a movie I was planning on showcasing a soundtrack to so I decided to go ahead and showcase it this week! This week's movie soundtrack is showcasing the film Forrest Gump. While this movie takes place during the 1950s-1980s, so you know the variety of the music in this film is going to be something special. So, let's get started.

220px-Low_res_cover_Forrest_Gump.jpg
Image Source

1.Hound Dog by Elvis Presley - This is probably one of the most memorable memories for a young Forrest Gump as he got to meet the "King" himself and the crazy dance that Elvis does was supposedly inspired by Forrest. He is later seen shopping with his mother one evening as they pass a department store and he sees Elvis on a television doing his dance.

2.For What It's Worth by Buffalo Springfield - Released in 1967, this song is all about war and protest. It is dominant enough that it stands out for me that during the era in this movie, Vietnam was going on and Forrest was enlisted in the Army and stationed there for a tour. I really don't want to give too much of the movie away for those who've not seen this movie.

3.Sweet Home Alabama by Lynyrd Skynyrd - Released in 1973, this song is shown in the movie when Jenny is teaching Forrest how to dance. It's kind of a sweet and innocent moment between the two as adults and something kind of a rarity when you actually see the movie.

And I apologize for the short post, but I do hope you enjoyed a trip down memory lane for those who have not seen this movie in a while!

Sincerely,
Ilsa Ione

ilsaione_blue.png

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by ilsaione from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Great soundtrack. There are so many good songs on it, I don't know how you picked out only three. Kudo's to you. I don't think I could have done it :)

It was extremely hard to do! I wanted to list so many that I had to pick and choose. I tried to choose one from each era in the movie that I could remember the best.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64093.86
ETH 3123.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94