Keep Your Eyes OpensteemCreated with Sketch.

in #soulpoetry5 years ago (edited)

I try to be that light
Spread the love to all in sight
But inside, I feel lost
Though sometimes, I am not

There's never enough time
To focus on my life
My ambitions left to rust
My dreams left to rot

Because the clock's never stoppin'
Just as soon as I start rockin'
My job comes a-knockin'
The doors to freedom are lockin'

Every week I lose dozens
Of hours for almost nothin'
I scrape by on the crumbs and
Slowly die from all the runnin'

I have much for which I'm thankful
I live in comfort, and survival
Costs far less effort in the first-world
But all the work still takes its toll

It leaves much more to be desired
It makes my soul feel tired
It tries to put out my fire
Stretches me thin as a wire

I have to work, and eat, and sleep, and clean
Then I have very little time in between
Most of it, I spend helping
Family and friends with whatever they need
And simply spending time with those I love
Cause any day might be their time to leave
And all I'll have left are the memories
And vice versa too, when death chooses me

So what's left of my own fire within?
A disappointing glimpse of what could have been
I want to do so many things
But this fucking world tears off your wings

I want to draw, to write, to play, to sing
To learn all I can about everything
To share my heart in the form of art
To bring the light into the dark

I don't have enough time to take off and fly
I'm chained to the ground to look up at the sky
But I never give up hope that one day we'll all be free
We must keep our eyes open so one day we'll each find the key

Until then, I stretch my chain as far as it will go
Create when I can, and it heals my aching soul
Though I don't have the time to fill up every hole
I keep my fire going until the day we're all whole

picture of key in hand

Sort:  

Marvellously beautiful. I share your pain but find solace in the experiences that let me glimpse that life isn't serious, despite its best efforts to display itself as such with relentless emphasis.

It doesn't take the pain away but it does lift the burden of the thought that we only have this one single opportunity and lost it to the inhhumane choices of those that came before us who set up this template.

May you stretch your shackles 'til they break. Not only for you but for all those that come after you to be here, facing new challenges of the cosmic dance.

Much love to you and all the strength the universe can muster to guide you through the valley <3

Well said, and thank you. I needed that reminder.

We always forget, or else the thing gets boring and would have no point.
Remind me tomorrow yeah?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64136.70
ETH 3128.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94