Getting all of my vitamins and Minerals here!

in #soulfood6 years ago (edited)

Day number one of my vegan Journey! truelocal.jpg

(image via true local.com.au)

I am hung over and all I want is some french fries and all of the foods that are opposite to what a healthy cleanse would entail but I want to enjoy a really good meal every once in awhile. Doing a cleanse and doing it the right way which is not living a restrictive life with RULES is just the way I feel BALANCED. I'm going to enjoy a good night out with friends who predominantly ended up being vegan ! So I was getting a lot of advice and support from these great group of ladies!

image.jpeg

We ended the night with some random guy we picked up from the bar who decided to woo the vegan ladies with a pumpkin he found in the bar and by golly it worked! So boys, forget the cheesy pick up lines because vegans don't eat cheese but apparently are totally turned on by a nice big pumpkin 😏

Back to the point... My first vegan meal on the #veganjourney was from a local restaurant turned chain (because it's sooooo good) called Soul Burger !

I had the Soul B fries which are smothered in cheese sauce and bacon bits which look and taste like real bacon. Which is enough food itself to feed an army! But I also had the Cheese Please burger which is a classic take on the cheese burger I grew up with! #Cheese smothered patty with ketchup, pickles and aioli! If you're ever in the Sydney area, check out #soulburger for some amazing #soulfood ! They cater to vegans, gluten free and have a #halal burger as well !

image.jpeg

Sort:  

Great post! Keep it up ✌🏼

Hi Marienne! Thank you so much! Please keep following for more posts ahead! x

Upvoted ☝ Have a great day!

I will ! Thank you!

Can you get a rough idea of the nutrients in this meal? I am having difficulty convincing your grandfather that having a meal of pasta and a potato does not represent good nutrition. I know I keep harping on this. I have recently been watching videos by a doctor who is the head of a medical school department on preventative care. He ate plant based foods for decades but at the age of 57 he was found to have the arteries of a person 20 years older. Indeed he looked very healthy and clean skinned but was on the edge of a fatal heart attack. The highest sources of Vitamin K2 are liver or cheeses.

Kale :)

http://healthyeating.sfgate.com/humans-convert-vitamin-k1-vitamin-k2-11895.html
I can see that at some stage it is true but as people grow older their ability to process nutrients drop.

Can’t we just consume lots of vitamin K1?
As mentioned earlier, animals do have the ability to convert vitamin K1 to vitamin K2 MK-4, but the conversion rates vary widely. (38, 39) In humans, the conversion rate is relatively unknown. Regardless, most people are deficient in vitamin K, hence infants in the United States are given a shot of vitamin K1 at birth to aid blood clotting. Furthermore, many drugs inhibit the conversion of vitamin K1 to K2, including cholesterol-lowering drugs (statins), osteoporosis drugs (alendronate, zoledronate), and blood thinners (warfarin). From the studies reviewed above, it’s clear that vitamin K2 intake itself is associated with many health benefits, regardless of vitamin K1 intake. Therefore, I wouldn’t rely solely on vitamin K1 intake to maintain healthy K2 status.
Source

One true test to tell if you have enough Vitamin K2 is the quality of the plaque on your teeth. If you have a hard plaque you are deficient but if you have no plaque you have are sufficient.

Oh gosh does this looks super delishious. I'm craving burgers right now! :) really looking forward to more posts from you :)

Much more to come! x

Looking forward to it :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 67205.80
ETH 3112.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71