You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The ugly side of recording

in #sonicgroove4 years ago (edited)

I know this feeling well! I spent three-and-a-half hours one afternoon last summer recording a five-minute composition by a friend of mine. I was recording it as a present for them. After hearing my recording they were not pleased with the sound quality of the recording, so I had to shelve the recording! In all fairness, they later apologized but by then the fall semester had begun and I was too busy to try to re-record their composition.

A veteran sound engineer once told me that some contemporary recordings of concerti (he mentioned at least one such recording to me) are (perhaps not surprisingly) created in a studio setting, like a rock album. The soloist plays through their part until they do so perfectly (or until the producer creates the impression of a perfect performance through editing) and the solo part is overdubbed over the orchestral "backing track" (!).

Sort:  



@michaelcalabris you have received 50 ENGAGE from @contrabourdon!
View and trade the tokens on Steem Engine.


This tip bot is powered by witness untersatz!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 61227.60
ETH 3022.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88